Skip to main content

Mahan Honored as Haskins Award Winner

College CentralOklahoma States Hunter Mahan has added yet another award to his growing list of accolades, as he was named the recipient of the Fred Haskins Collegiate Player of the Year Award by the Fred Haskins Award Committee.
Widely regarded as collegiate golf's premier award, the Haskins Award is voted on each year by coaches, players and members of the media.
Hunter MahanPast winners include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, David Duval and Curtis Strange among others.
He is the sixth member from the Oklahoma State golf program to garner the award, following OSU alum Charles Howell in 2000.
Mahan, a junior who is foregoing his senior season at Oklahoma State to turn professional, also won the 2003 Jack Nicklaus Award and was the co-recipient of the 2003 Ben Hogan Award along with Ricky Barnes.
Mahan was also named a first-team PING All-American for the second consecutive season.
Mahan, a native of McKinney, Texas, posted three victories this season while establishing school records with 10 consecutive rounds and nine consecutive tournaments below par.
Established in 1971, the award is dedicated to Fred Haskins, who served as the head golf professional for 34 years at the Columbus Country Club, in Columbus, Ga.
A clubmaker and course architecture, Haskins was most known for his dedication and impact on teaching junior golfers.
Here's a look at past winners of the award.
1971Ben Crenshaw University of Texas
1972 Ben Crenshaw University of Texas
1973 Ben Crenshaw University of Texas
1974Curtis Strange Wake Forest University
1975 Jay Haas Wake Forest University
1976 Phil Hancock University of Florida
1977 Scott Simpson University of Southern Cal
1978 Lindy Miller Oklahoma State University
1979 Bobby Clampett Brigham Young University
1980 Bobby Clampett Brigham Young University
1981 Bob Tway Oklahoma State University
1982 Willie Wood Oklahoma State University
1983 Brad Faxon Furman University
1984 John Inman University of N. Carolina
1985 Sam Randolph University of Southern Cal
1986 Scott Verplank Oklahoma State University
1987 Billy Mayfair Arizona State University
1988 Bob Estes University of Texas
1989 Robert Gamez University of Arizona
1990 Phil Mickelson Arizona State University
1991 Phil Mickelson Arizona State University
1992 Phil Mickelson Arizona State University
1993 David Duval Georgia Tech
1994 Justin Leonard University of Texas
1995 Stewart Cink Georgia Tech
1996 Tiger Woods Stanford University
1997 Brad Elder University of Texas
1998 Matt Kuchar Georgia Tech
1999 Luke Donald Northwestern University
2000 Charles Howell Oklahoma State University
2001 Brice Molder Georgia Tech
2002 Graham McDowell University of Alabama