Skip to main content

Money Title on the Line at ANZ Finale

This week's Australasian Tour finale, the ANZ Championship in Sydney, Australia will feature a pair of races, one for the tournament title and another for the Order of Merit.
Only three players are still in the hunt for the overall money title, but with a British Open exemption available for the top-3 finishers, many more names have extra incentive to play well this week.

19-year old Aaron Baddeley is comfortably on top of the Order of Merit with $639,525, leading Michael Campbell by almost $165,000. David Smail sits in third with $382,389. Baddeley's spot is secure unless Campbell or Smail win this week. If Campbell takes home the title, Baddeley can still win the title with a top-3 finish. Smail needs a win plus a Baddeley finish outside of the top-35.
'After I won the Australian Open it was definitely a goal,' Baddeley said of winning the Order of Merit. 'It gives you great exemptions to the British Open and the final stage of the US Tour school, if things don't go right in the US.'

'It helped me a lot when Aaron did not play too well last week,' Campbell said. 'But I can't depend on his results. All I can do is go out and play my own game and win.'
A number of players are still in the hunt for the top-3 exemption into this July's British Open. Among those within striking distance are Nick O'Hern, Peter Lonard, Geoff Ogilvy, Rod Pampling and Jarrod Moseley, who won the Order of Merit in 1999.
2000 ANZ Championship winner Andre Stolz will have to defend his title on a different course than last year. After an eight-year absence, Concord Golf Club returns as host, replacing Royal Canberra, where it was played last year. The purse also takes a huge jump, tripling from last year's total, with the winner receiving $270,000.
ANZ Tour Order of Merit through the Ericsson Masters:
1 Aaron Baddeley - $639,525
2 Michael Campbell - 475,702
3 David Smail - 382,389
4 Nick O'Hern - 339,230
5 Peter Lonard - 309,387
6 Robert Allenby - 307,500
7 Geoff Ogilvy - 241,336
8 Greg Norman - 202,483
9 Rod Pampling - 197,446
10 Jarrod Moseley - 180,345
11 Peter O'Malley - 173,492
12 Richard Green - 162,725
13 Scott Laycock - 156,844
14 Nathan Green - 148,212
15 Scott Gardiner - 142,376
16 Paul Gow - 139,614
17 Kenny Druce - 130,163
18 Wayne Smith - 127,353
19 Adam Scott - 123,740
20 Steven Conran - 122,320