Skip to main content

Nationwide Tour Back on American Soil

The Nationwide Tour finally arrives home after a couple of weeks in the South Pacific for this weeks Louisiana Open at Le Triomphe Country Club in Broussard, La.
This will be the 12th edition of the tournament, having been through all four of the tours names, from the original Ben Hogan, then under the Nike Tour for seven years, the Buy.Com for three and now to the current Nationwide title.
Joe Ogilvie and Ryan Palmer will be looking to take one giant step closer to the PGA Tour as each already has one win under his belt, and a victory here would get them to the brink of the PGA Tour's 'Battlefield Promotion.'
Last years playoff between Steven Alker and Mike Heinen, won by Alker on the second extra hole, was the first in the events history. The Le Triomphe Country Club, a par-72 7,004-yard gem, has been the host of the event since its inception in 1992.
Paul Stankowski and Matt Gogel, winners here in 1996 and 1999 respectively, are the two best-known players that have been crowned champion of the Louisiana event.
Look for low scores this week at the Chitimacha Louisiana Open. Steven
Alker won last year's event with a tournament record 24-under-par effort.
In fact, the Le Triomphe CC course proved to be the easiest venue on the
Nationwide Tour in 2002 playing to a stroke average of 69.707.
The defending champ at this week's Players Championship, Craig Perks,
owes some of his success to Le Triomphe CC. He served as the assistant
professional there for two years before he began his Nationwide Tour
career. In fact, he still lives in Lafayette, LA.
The last three winners of the Chitimacha Louisiana Open are in the
field this week - Steven Alker (2002), Paul Claxton (2001) and Rob McKelvey
(2000). The 1999 winner couldn't make it back. He's busy this week in
Ponte Vedra, Fla. --Matt Gogel is competing this week at The Players
The field this week in Louisiana includes 17 former PGA Tour winners and
62 men who have won on the Nationwide Tour.

Statistical Preview of the Louisiana Open