Skip to main content

Palmers US Amateur Win to Be Celebrated

He considers the feat so indelible on his persona that Arnold Palmer wrote a book about it, calling his victory in the 1954 United States Amateur my turning point in golf.

And now, closing in on the 50th anniversary of Palmer capturing the most prestigious prize in amateur golf, he and 24 of his fellow U.S. Amateur champions are combining to create turning points in the lives of children in urban Detroit with the inaugural Arnold Palmer Turning Point Invitational. The two-day event is scheduled to begin with a gala fundraising dinner Aug. 29, followed by a one-day pro-am Aug. 30 at the Country Club of Detroit ' the site of Palmers come-from-behind, 1-up victory over Robert Sweeny.

Former U.S. Amateur champions who have agreed to participate in the inaugural Arnold Palmer Turning Point Invitational include: Palmer (1954), Harvie Ward (1955, 1956), Gary Cowan (1966, 1971), Bob Dickson (1967), Bruce Fleisher (1968), Steve Melnyk (1969), Lanny Wadkins (1970), Vinnie Giles (1972), Craig Stadler (1973), Fred Ridley (1975), John Fought (1977), John Cook (1978), Mark OMeara (1979), Nathaniel Crosby (1981), Scott Verplank (1984), Buddy Alexander (1986), Billy Mayfair (1987), Phil Mickelson (1990), Mitch Voges (1991), John Harris (1993), Hank Kuehne (1998), David Gossett (1999), Jeff Quinney (2000), Ricky Barnes (2002) and Nick Flanagan (2003).

The Arnold Palmer Turning Point Invitational will be a two best ball championship with 25 fivesomes, each captained by a past U.S. Amateur champion. One-hundred golfers will have the opportunity to play in his historic tournament with Palmer and the other past amateur champions.