Skip to main content

Paradise Golf Continues for Nationwide

Nationwide TourThe Nationwide Tour leaves Australia and sets sail over the Tasman Sea in the South Pacific for the playing of the 2004 New Zealand PGA Championship in Christchurch, New Zealand.
Co-sanctioned by the PGA Tour and the Australasian Tour, it marks the Nationwide Tour's third and final event outside North America before reuturning stateside at next month's Louisiana Open.
The field, comprised of players from both tours, will be vying for the $500,000 purse. The first-place check is worth $90,000.
The winner of this event last year, Ryan Palmer, will not be back to defend his title as he used the victory to springboard himself to a sixth-place finish on the season-ending money list and onto the PGA Tour. The top 20 players on the final money list gain membership to the big tour.
Both Jimmy Walker and Euan Walters are in the field this week, as each will try to take a step closer to gaining the PGA Tour's 'Battlefield Promotion.' The promotion is given to any player who earns three wins in a single season. Last year, Tom Carter became only the sixth player in the history of the Nationwide Tour to earn the Battlefield Promotion and go directly to the PGA Tour.
Walker, who won the season-opening BellSouth Panama Open, had another strong showing last week as he finished in a tie for eighth. He now sits second behind Walters on the money list.
Walters, who with the win garnered the biggest paycheck of the year on the Nationwide Tour at $145,587, has all but ensured himself a spot on the PGA Tour next year. Last year Tommy Tolles finished 20th on the money list with $179,963. That leaves Walters just $35,000 short of the number.
The Golf Channels exclusive coverage of the Nationwide Tour continues with coverage beginning Thursday - Sunday at 1:30 p.m. ET. The telecasts take viewers inside the ropes, as players will be micd or wear a heart-rate monitor throughout the year.
Related links:
  • Full Coverage - New Zealand PGA Championship
  • TGC Airtimes - New Zealand PGA Championship