Skip to main content

Past Champions Abound at International

David Gossett is now a member of the PGA Tour; and thanks to that, he'll be in this week's field at The International.
Gossett made his professional debut at this event a year ago. It was the first of seven straight missed cuts in 2000 for the 1999 U.S. Amateur champion.
After playing the majority of the 2001 campaign on the Buy.Com Tour, Gossett made the most of his sponsor's exemption at last week's John Deere Classic.
Gossett led from start to finish to become the 15th first-time winner in John Deere history.
This week's field will be a bit more competitive, as all 14 of the previous International winners are scheduled to compete in Castle Rock, Co.
That list includes the likes of Phil Mickelson (1993, 97), Vijay Singh (1998), Lee Janzen (1995), Jose Maria Olazabal (1991), Davis Love III (1990) and Greg Norman (1989).
This will be Normans first start since skipping the Open Championship two weeks ago due to the death of a close friend. A year ago, the now-46-year-old finished a surprising fourth after missing five weeks due to hip surgery.
Not to be forgotten is last years victor, Ernie Els.
Els birdied three of his final five holes to capture his first PGA Tour title in 18 months. Once again, hell be looking to end a victory drought, as Els has yet to win since he did so at the Castle Pines Golf Club.
The 16th International is the only event on the PGA Tour schedule that employs the modified Stableford scoring system, in which scoring is as follows:
Eagle: 5 points
Birdie: 2 points
Par: 0 points
Bogey: -1 point
Double Bogey or Worse: -3 points
Last year, Els won with a total of 48 points, equaling the tournament record set by Mickelson in 1997.
The South African is trying to keep alive a streak of at least one victory a year on tour since 1993.
This years purse is $4 million, with $720,000 going to the winner.
Full field and tee times for The International