Skip to main content

Players Ready to Break the Bank

Sunshine TourAfter playing strictly for pride and country ' or grouped affiliation, a host of players will hang around South Africa to play for pay.
A whole lot of it.
Fifteen Presidents Cup team members will compete in the exclusive and lucrative Nedbank Golf Challenge.
Because last weeks Presidents Cup was contested in George, South Africa, tournament organizers decided to up the field total from 12 to 18.
The increase in field size resulted in a decrease in the winners share. Ernie Els pocketed $2 million for his victory a year ago. This years winner will get a not-so-paltry $1.2 million ' still the largest first-place check in professional golf. Last place is guaranteed $75,000.
This is the 23rd playing of the Nedbank, and once again it will be held at the Gary Player Country Club in Sun City.
Player captained the International team to a controversial tie last week. International team members Els, Vijay Singh, Retief Goosen, Adam Scott, Nick Price, Robert Allenby, Stephen Leaney and Stuart Appleby are in this weeks field.
U.S. team members David Toms, Kenny Perry, Chris DiMarco, Jay Haas, Charles Howell III, Jerry Kelly and Fred Funk are also on hand.
Padraig Harrington, Darren Clarke and Sergio Garcia round out the field.
Garcia won in 2001, when he fired a final-round 63. His victory broke up Els winning streak. The big South African won in 1999, 2000 and again in 2002.
Garcia has yet to win a title anywhere around the world this year -- he almost won last week in Japan, but blew a three-stroke final-round lead-- but he can get excited about the fact that multiple winners are a prevailing theme in this event.
Price won in 1993, 97 and 98; David Frost won in 1989, 90 and 92; Bernhard Langer was the top man in 1985 and 91; and Seve Ballesteros repeated in 1983-84.
Related Links:
  • Golf Channel Airtimes
  • Full Coverage - Nedbank Challenge