Skip to main content

Poulter Wins European Rookie Award

Ian Poulter has been named the 2000 European Tour Rookie of the Year. The 24-year old Englishman won last month's Italian Open and finished second at the Moroccan Open and third at the Brazil Sao Paulo 500 Years Open.
Past winners of the Sir Henry Cotton Rookie of the Year Award include Tony Jacklin, Sam Torrance, Mark James, Nick Faldo, Jose Maria Olazabal, Colin Montgomerie and last year's winner, Sergio Garcia.
Poulter finished the year 31st on the Order of Merit with over $400,000 in earnings.