Skip to main content

Price Elected to Hall of Fame

Nick Price has been elected to the World Golf Hall of Fame via the PGA Tour ballot. Price was chosen on 76 percent of the returned ballots.
Price will be inducted on Oct. 20th as the 99th member during the World Golf Hall of Fames annual Induction Ceremony at World Golf Village near St. Augustine, Fla.
I am honored to have been elected into the World Golf Hall of Fame, said Price. To be in the same company as this elite group is a great privilege.
From his breakthrough victory at the 1992 PGA Championship through the end of the 1994 season, Price captured 16 worldwide wins. In 1993, he won THE PLAYERS Championship. He was victorious six times in 1994, including the 1994 British Open and PGA Championship. In doing so, he became one of only six players to win back-to-back majors since World War II (there are seven now). The victories propelled Price to the top position of the World Rankings in 1994 and 1995. With his win at the 2002 MasterCard Colonial, Price has tallied 18 PGA TOUR victories and 23 International wins.
Achievement, on and off the course, has marked Nick Prices career, said
Finchem. Nick will always be remembered for one of the dominant stretches
in PGA TOUR history and this honor is an important part of his legacy.
Price also has collected two PGA TOUR money titles (1993, 1994), two PGA TOUR Player of the Year awards (1993, 1994), two Vardon Trophies (1993, 1997), earned the 1997 Byron Nelson Award, and received the PGA TOURs Payne Stewart Award in 2002. He has been a member of the International Team in every Presidents Cup competition. Last year he became the recipient of the Golf Writers Association of Americas inaugural ASAP Sports/Jim Murray Award, given to a professional player for his cooperation, quoteability and accommodation to the media.
Below are the top five finishers for both ballots:
Nick Price 76%
Tom Kite 59%
Henry Picard 43%
Curtis Strange 38%
Larry Nelson 37%
Ayako Okamoto 46%
Isao Aoki 45%
Jumbo Ozaki 35%
Chako Higuchi 28%
Christy O'Connor Sr. 28%
Other 2003 inductees include Leo Diegel, who was selected through the
Veterans Category, and Chako Higuchi, who was selected through the Lifetime
Achievement Category.