Skip to main content

Senior Tour Announces 2000 Awards

Larry Nelson received top honors as the Senior PGA Tour handed out its 2000 awards on Thursday.
Nelson was selected as the Player of the Year. Nelson posted six victories, seven runner-up finishes and 23 top-10s this season. In addition to earning the Jack Nicklaus Award, which is given the the Tour's top player, Nelson also won the Arnold Palmer Award, which is given to the year's leading money earner.
'I had several good years on the PGA Tour, but this, without a doubt, is my most satisfying year in golf,' said Nelson, who earned $2,708,005 in 2000. 'To be voted by your peers as Player of the Year is quite an honor.'
In addition to Player of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Comeback Player of the Year awards were also handed out.
Doug Tewell was voted a Senior Tour Rookie of the Year. Tewell won three times in 2000, including the PGA Seniors' Championship.
Raymond Floyd was honored as Comeback Player of the Year. At 57 years, 10 months and 12 days, Floyd became the oldest player in Senior Tour history to win a major title, doing so at the FORD SENIOR PLAYERS Championship.