Skip to main content

Singh in Search of Third PGA Title

PGA of AmericaThe PGA Championship is known for its affinity for producing first-time major champions.
Over the last 17 years, 13 players have made this event their maiden major. That list includes Vijay Singh, who won at Sahalee Country Club in 1998
Vijay Singh
Vijay Singh has 16 PGA Tour wins since the start of the 2003 season.
But while many of Singhs peers in this group have failed to win a second major championship ' nine of the 13, to be exact, the big Fijian has gone on to provide not just another, but yet another major conquest.
Major No. 2 came less than two years later at the 2000 Masters Tournament. Major No. 3, however, would take more than twice as much time.
Singh entered the 2004 PGA Championship as the tours most prolific winner over the previous year and a half. In just 18 months, Singh had reeled off eight victories, nearly doubling his career output.
But what he was lacking during that spectacular span was a major championship. In fact, it had been more than four years since he had captured one of the four biggest prizes in golf.
It appeared that dubious streak would be stretched to 19 majors played without a win, when Singh crumbled during the final round at Whistling Straits.
Leading by one at the start of the day, Singh shot a birdie-less, 4-over 76, yet somehow managed to make a three-way playoff with Justin Leonard, who bogeyed the final hole of regulation to force the extra session, and Chris DiMarco, who snuck in with a closing 71.
Singh made the most of his second life, finally producing a birdie on the first hole of the three-hole cumulative playoff. He then made a pair of pars to edge Leonard and DiMarco by a single swing.
'This makes my year,' Singh said at the time. 'I played well at the Masters, I did not win. I played well the first two days of the U.S. Open, played well at the British, but this is it. I wanted one major again and it came at the right time.'
Singhs year was far from over. He went on to win four more times ' giving him nine for the season. He also dethroned Tiger Woods atop the Official World Golf Ranking, ending his reign of 264 consecutive weeks. He also ended Woods run of five straight Player of the Year titles. And he captured his second straight money title.
Singh has continued his winning way this season, with victories at the Sony Open, Shell Houston Open and Wachovia Championship.
But he once again looks to the PGA Championship for some major inspiration.
Singh has finished inside the top 10 in each of the years first three majors, but he has yet to get within five strokes of the champion.
If he can breakthrough again, this time at Baltusrol Golf Club in Springfield, N.J., he will join Walter Hagen (5), Gene Sarazen (3), Sam Snead (3) and Jack Nicklaus (5) as the only men to have won this championship three times.
He would also join Woods as the only men to repeat as champion since this event moved to a stroke-play format in 1958.
Related Links:
  • Full Coverage - PGA Championship