Skip to main content

Tours Compete Against Each Other

The Wendys Three-Tour Challenge pits three-person teams from the PGA, LPGA and Champions tours battling for a purse of $850,000.
Each player records his own 18-hole, stroke-play score, which is added to a team total. The team with the lowest three-person total score is victorious.
The PGA Tour team of Rich Beem, Jim Furyk and John Daly won a year ago. The trio teamed for a 5-under-par performance to take home the title.
Furyk and Beem are absent this year and have been replaced by Mark Calcavecchia and Peter Jacobsen.
They square off against LPGA players Grace Park, Rachel Teske and Juli Inkster, and Hale Irwin, Craig Stadler and Tom Kite of the Champions Tour.
The tournament was contested Nov. 25 at the Reflection Bay Golf Club at Lake Las Vegas in Nevada. It is scheduled to air Dec. 20 and 21 on ABC.
The Golf Channel took a behind the scenes look at what happened prior to the tournament, and talked with the participants. The show will air Dec. 20 at 3:30 PM ET with host Vince Cellini.
The Golf Channel will then review the tournament and talk with the winning team on its Dec. 21 show at 6:00 PM ET.
This is the 12th playing of this event. The PGA Tour holds the all-time lead with five victories. The Champions Tour has won four times, with the LPGA winning the inaugural edition in 1992 and again in 2001.
Last years event raised more than $2 million for the Dave Thomas Foundation for Adoption.
Related Links:
  • Full Coverage - Wendy's Three Tour Challenge