Skip to main content

Watch List Announced for 2004 Hogan Award

College CentralNORMAN, Okla. ' The Friends of Golf (FOG) and Colonial Country Club, in cooperation with Bank of America and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA), have announced the watch list for the 2004 Ben Hogan Award, presented annually to the top mens NCAA Division I, II or III or NAIA golfer.
Taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the last 12 months, the watch list includes 34 golfers, including Outback Steakhouse Arnold Palmer Award winners Alejandro Caizares and Chico States J.J. Jakovac and 2003 first-team PING All-America selections Dustin Bray of North Carolina, Wake Forest's Bill Haas, Brock Mackenzie of Washington and Arizona's Chris Nallen.
'The depth in college golf this year is reflected in the watch list for the Hogan,' stated GCAA Executive Director Gregg Grost. 'Obviously, a great collegiate amateur will be chosen in this, the Heisman of college golf.'
The Hogan Award selection committee will select 10 semi-finalists on April 14 and name five finalists on April 27. The winner of the Hogan Award will be announced on May 6 and the presentation banquet will be held at Colonial Country Club on May 17, the Monday prior to the Bank of America Colonial.
Nicolas Allain, Oklahoma City
Chris Baryla, UTEP
Dustin Bray, North Carolina
Alejandro Caizares, Arizona State
Steve Conway, UCLA
Matt Every, Florida
Jack Ferguson, Clemson
Bill Haas, Wake Forest
Jason Hartwick, Texas
Brad Heaven, Toledo
Matt Hendrix, Clemson
John Holmes, Kentucky
Billy Hurley, Navy
J.J. Jakovac, Chico State
Travis Johnson, UCLA
Gregg Jones, Clemson
Martin Laird, Colorado State
Brock Mackenzie, Washington
Nolan Martin, Colorado State
John Merrick, UCLA
Ryan Moore, UNLV
Chris Nallen, Arizona
Jeff Overton, Indiana
Aron Price, Georgia Southern
Michael Putnam, Pepperdine
Chez Reavie, Arizona State
Matthew Rosenfeld, Texas
Josh Sherlin, Saint Johns
Justin Smith, Minnesota
Chris Stroud, Lamar
Peter Tomasulo, California
Camilo Villegas, Florida
Casey Wittenberg, Oklahoma State