Skip to main content

Womens NCAA Regionals Announced

On Monday, the top-ranked Duke women's golf team received its 12th consecutive bid to participate in the NCAA East Regional on May 6-8 in Howey-in-the-Hills, Fla., at the Mission Inn Golf & Tennis Resort.
Other teams competing are Auburn, Oklahoma State, Wake Forest, UNLV, Florida, North Carolina, Tulane, LSU, Tennessee, Furman, South Carolina, Florida State, Mississippi, UNC Wilmington, Alabama, Miami, Fla., North Carolina State, Campbell, St. Francis (Pa.) and Southern.
The regional will be a three-day, 54-hole tournament with 18 holes played each day. The top eight teams and top two individuals (not on one of those eight teams) advance on to the NCAA Championships to be played May 18-21 at the Grand National Lake Course in Auburn, Ala.
Duke is coming off winning its ninth consecutive ACC Championship in Clemmons, N.C. and has won eight of its nine tournaments this season. Duke is led by five golfers ranked in the top 16 of the Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index, including the nations top-ranked golfer, Liz Janangelo. Other Blue Devils ranked include freshman Brittany Lang (3), 2002 NCAA Champion Virada Nirapathpongporn (5), freshman Anna Grzebien (15) and senior Leigh Anne Hardin (16).
The Blue Devils have won the East Regional the past four years in a row. In 2003, Hardin was the East Region NCAA Individual Champion, while Nirapathpongporn was the 2001 East Regional champion.
Duke has been the team to beat in 2003-04 as the Blue Devils have registered one of the most impressive seasons in collegiate golf history. On the year, Duke has won nine of 10 tournaments and the one tournament the Blue Devils lost, they had only four golfers competing due to Nirapathpongporn and Janangelo playing in the LPGA Kraft Nabisco Championship.
In 2003-04, Duke has won its eight stroke-play tournaments by an average margin of 21.9 strokes, which includes a school-record 49 strokes at the Tar Heel Invitational in the fall.
East Regional
The East regional will be played May 6-8 at Mission Inn Golf and Tennis Resort, Howey-in-the-Hills, Florida, co-hosted by the Central Florida Sports Commission and Stetson University.
1. Duke
2. Auburn
3. Oklahoma State
4. Wake Forest
6. Florida
7. North Carolina
8. Tulane
9. LSU
10. Tennessee
11. Furman
12. South Carolina
13. Florida State
14. Mississippi
15. North Carolina-Wilmington
16. Alabama
17. Miami
18. North Carolina State
19. Campbell
20. St. Francis (Pennsylvania)
21. Southern University

Central Regional
The Central regional will be played May 6-8 at University Golf Course, Normal, Illinois, hosted by Illinois State University.
1. Vanderbilt
2. New Mexico
3. Arizona
4. Southern California
5. Oklahoma
6. Michigan State
7. Tulsa
8. Missouri
9. TCU
10. Arkansas
11. Texas A&M
12. Kansas State
13. Indiana
14. Southern Methodist
15. Kent State
16. Purdue
17. Northwestern
18. Baylor
19. Notre Dame
20. Princeton
21. Illinois State

West Regional
The West regional will be played May 6-8 at Stanford Golf Course, Stanford, California, hosted by Stanford University.
2. Ohio State
3. California
4. Georgia
5. Texas
6. Washington
7. Stanford
8. Pepperdine
9. Arizona State
10. Oregon
11. San Francisco
12. New Mexico State
13. San Diego State
14. San Jose State
15. Brigham Young
16. Texas Tech
17. Denver
18. Washington State
19. Portland State
20. Cal State Northridge
21. Oral Roberts