Skip to main content

Woods Repeats as APs Top Male Athlete

Tiger Woods won his second consecutive Male Athlete of the Year Award from The Associated Press on Tuesday. Woods joins NBA great Michael Jordan as the only three-time winner of the award.
Tiger received 47 first-place votes and 160 total points to best Lance Armstrong who was his second straight Tour de France this year. Armstrong had eight first-place votes and 72 points, while St. Louis Rams quarterback Kurt Warner received 34 points to place third.
The award was voted on by sportswriters and broadcasters with points awarded on a 3-2-1 basis.
Woods becomes the sixth player to win the award in consecutive years. He joins an exclusive list alongside tennis player Don Budge, Byron Nelson, track star Carl Lewis, NFL Hall of Famer Joe Montana and Jordan, who won his three awards consecutively.
Pedro Martinez, Shaquille O'Neal, Rulon Gardner, Jason Giambi, Derek Jeter, Josh Heupel and Marshall Faulk rounded out the top-10.
Do you think Tiger can improve in 2001?
Share your thoughts!