Skip to main content

Another ruling, another DQ at Memorial

Getty Images

DUBLIN, Ohio – Add another chapter to the year of the golf rule, this time an infraction that cost Joost Luiten a place in the field for the rest of the week at the Memorial.

Luiten was 1 over for the day when he hit into a bunker adjacent Muirfield Village’s 11th green. As the native of the Netherlands stepped in to hit his shot his ball moved and he later signed for an even par-5 on the hole, two strokes less than what he should have signed for.

He took his stance which means you’ve addressed the ball and then the ball moved which is a penalty,” said PGA Tour rules official Jon Brendle who was involved in a lengthy conversation with Luiten adjacent Muirfield Village’s chipping green after the ruling. “He and his caddie didn’t think he’d addressed his ball, but they didn’t know the definition of the rule.”

Luiten violated Rule 18-2b and failed to add two strokes to his score on the hole. Because he had already signed his scorecard he was disqualified.