Skip to main content

Barber disqualified again from Web.com Tour event

Blayne Barber
Getty Images
ABU DHABI, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES - JANUARY 21: Alex Noren of Sweden waits with his caddie Colin Byrne on the ninth hole during the first round of The Abu Dhabi Golf Championship at Abu Dhabi Golf Club on January 21, 2010 in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. (Photo by Andrew Redington/Getty Images)  - 

For the third time in less than 18 months, Blayne Barber has been disqualified from a tournament because of a scorecard error.

Barber shot a 4-under 67 Thursday in the first round of the Brasil Champions on the Web.com Tour, a total that put him three shots off the early pace in Sao Paulo. According to a Tour spokesman, though, Barber failed to sign his scorecard before leaving the scoring area and was subsequently disqualified.

A former standout at Auburn, Barber disqualified himself days after advancing past the first round of PGA Tour Q-School in 2012, realizing after the fact that he had incorrectly applied a penalty for touching a loose impediment in a hazard. Then last August, Barber appeared to be in contention at the Mylan Classic on the Web.com Tour but was again disqualified, this time for signing an incorrect scorecard after a second-round 66.

Last fall, the 24-year-old advanced to the finals of Web.com Tour Q-School, securing playing privileges on the developmental circuit for the 2014 season. He posted a pair of high finishes in his first two starts this year, tying for 21st at the Colombia Championship and following that with a T-12 last week at the Chile Classic - a finish that came despite a two-shot penalty for playing his ball from an incorrect spot on the green.

During his second round last week, Barber stood over a 3-foot putt on the 16th green and realized his ball had moved slightly after he had removed his coin. After conferring with his playing partner - but not calling for an official - he replaced the ball to its original spot and made the putt. Per Rule 20-7, he should have played the ball from its new position since he did not originally cause it to move, and the penalty turned his bogey-free 64 into a 66.