Skip to main content

Breaking down the Open field Open Logo
Getty Images
KIAWAH ISLAND, SC - AUGUST 08: Davis Love III of the United States looks on during a practice round of the 94th PGA Championship at the Ocean Course on August 8, 2012 in Kiawah Island, South Carolina. (Photo by Sam Greenwood/Getty Images)  - 

SAN MARTIN, Calif. – There are nine winners from the 2013 PGA Tour season in this week’s Open field. The Hyundai Tournament of Champions, this is not.

Unlike the former season-opener, which was on offer to the previous campaign's Tour winners, this is a full-field event. There are 132 players in the field, including eight Tour rookies, eight sponsor exemptions and eight players using major medical extensions.

There is one goal, however: Getting a jump on next season’s Tour card.

But just because you have a card for this season doesn’t mean you get to use it. Only 29 players made it into the original field via the Tour priority ranking. Two more were added when Steve Marino and Jonathan Byrd (both using major medical extensions this year) withdrew.

A look at how the field breaks down:

Winner - PGA/U.S. Open Championship
Lucas Glover
Y.E. Yang

Winner - The Players Championship
Tim Clark

Winner - Masters Tournament
Angel Cabrera

Winner - British Open (since 1990)
Stewart Cink

Tournament winner in past two seasons
Charlie Beljan
Jonas Blixt
Scott Brown
Ben Curtis
Derek Ernst
Tommy Gainey
Brian Gay
J.J. Henry
Billy Horschel
John Huh
Marc Leishman
George McNeill
John Merrick
Geoff Ogilvy
Carl Pettersson
Ted Potter, Jr.
Patrick Reed
Kyle Stanley
Johnson Wagner
Gary Woodland

Career money exemption
Robert Allenby
Stephen Ames
Fred Funk
Scott Verplank
Mike Weir

Sponsors exemptions - Qualifying tournament
Jamie Lovemark
Kevin Tway

Sponsors exemptions - Members not otherwise exempt
Chad Campbell
Robert Streb

Sponsors exemptions - unrestricted
Max Homa
Brooks Koepka
Justin Thomas
Chris Williams

PGA section champion\Player of the Year
David Carr

Past champion of respective event
Cameron Beckman
Troy Matteson
Rocco Mediate
Bryce Molder
Life Member
Davis Love III
Vijay Singh

Top 125 on prior season's FedExCup points list
Charles Howell III
Jimmy Walker
Daniel Summerhays
Chris Stroud
Kevin Chappell
Rory Sabbatini
Brian Davis
David Hearn
Nicholas Thompson
Jason Kokrak
Brendan Steele
Freddie Jacobson
Josh Teater
Cameron Tringale
John Rollins
Camilo Villegas
Jerry Kelly
Justin Leonard
Luke Guthrie
Robert Garrigus
Brian Stuard
Brian Harman
Stuart Appleby
Pat Perez
Erik Compton
William McGirt
Aaron Baddeley
James Driscoll
Jeff Overton
John Senden
James Hahn
Jason Bohn
Jeff Maggert
Justin Hicks
Morgan Hoffmann
Chez Reavie
Scott Langley
Charlie Wi
Steven Bowditch
Ben Crane

Top 125 (Prior season non-member)
Hideki Matsuyama

Major medical extension
Kevin Na
Retief Goosen
Paul Goydos
Blake Adams
Briny Baird
Spencer Levin
Jhonattan Vegas
Jose Coceres

Leading money winner from Tour and Tour Finals
Michael Putnam
John Peterson

Top 10 and ties from the previous event
Andres Gonzales

Top finishers from Tour prior season
Chesson Hadley
Seung-Yul Noh
Andrew Svoboda
Trevor Immelman
Will MacKenzie
Scott Gardiner
Edward Loar
Ben Martin
Brendon Todd
Ryo Ishikawa
Brad Fritsch
Kevin Kisner
Sean O'Hair
Bud Cauley
Heath Slocum
Russell Knox
Hudson Swafford
Will Claxton
Brice Garnett
Tyrone Van Aswegen
Chad Collins
Billy Hurley III
Danny Lee
Jim Herman
Troy Merritt
Lee Williams
Andrew Loupe
Ricky Barnes
Peter Malnati
Bobby Gates
Bronson La'Cassie