Skip to main content

Decision 2010

Golf Talk Central
Getty Images

ATLANTA – Let the Player of the Year debate begin. Although Jim Furyk seemed to put the finishing touches on three keepsakes Sunday at East Lake – the Tour Championship, FedEx Cup and Jack Nicklaus Award – nothing is certain when a ballot is involved.

Furyk is the only Tour player with three victories this year and in two of the first three FedEx Cup seasons the playoff champion (Tiger Woods in 2007 and ’09) was also crowned the Player of Year. The exception was 2008 when Vijay Singh took the $10 million jackpot and Padraig Harrington, a two-time major winner that season, was the PoY.

After Furyk, five players have two victories apiece (Ernie Els, Steve Stricker, Hunter Mahan, Dustin Johnson and Justin Rose), just one Tour member (Phil Mickelson) won a major in 2010 and Matt Kuchar is the current money-list leader with $4.88 million.

Here’s the drill, the 16-member Player Advisory Council and four Policy Board player directors will huddle at the Las Vegas Tour stop the third week of October and vote on a list of nominees. The final ballots will then be mailed to players during the Disney stop the second week of November.

Players will then have 30 days to vote on PoY, as well as Comeback Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year, and return the ballot to Tour HQ. “Shag Bag” doesn’t get a vote, but if we did we’d pencil in Furyk’s name for PoY. Three of a kind trumps a pair with an ace high-card every time.