Skip to main content

Donald, Tseng, Lehman receive GWAA honors

Luke Donald
Getty Images
PONTE VEDRA BEACH, FL - MAY 05: Tiger Woods hits a shot during a practice round prior to the start of THE PLAYERS on the Stadium Course at TPC Sawgrass on May 5, 2009 in Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. (Photo by Scott Halleran/Getty Images)  - 

Luke Donald, Yani Tseng and Tom Lehman were named 2011 Players of the Year by the Golf Writers Association of America on Thursday.

All three players won their respective awards by overwhelming margins.

Donald received 88 percent of the vote, compared to nine percent for Keegan Bradley. Webb Simpson and Rory McIlroy rounded out the top four.

Yani Tseng won her second consecutive GWAA Player of the Year award with 95 percent of votes cast for her dozen-win year.

Tom Lehman won his first senior POY and his second overall. He was Male Player of the Year in 1996 after capturing the Open Championship and PGA Tour money title.