Skip to main content

Dyson faces hearing, possible Euro Tour expulsion

Simon Dyson
Getty Images

Days after he was disqualified from the BMW Masters for illegally tapping down a spike mark, the European Tour announced that Simon Dyson will face a disciplinary hearing over the incident according to a Reuters report.

Video from last week's event in Shanghai showed Dyson marking his ball on the green, then quickly using the ball to tap down a spike mark in his line. Tournament officials were alerted of the infraction by a television viewer; since Dyson – who appeared tied for second through 36 holes – had already signed his second-round scorecard, the subsequent two-shot penalty resulted in his disqualification.

The Tour's announcement Thursday indicated that Dyson will face a three-person panel at the hearing. That panel, which will include an independent lawyer, a former player and a sports administrator, will reportedly have a wide variety of options at its disposal should it deem further punishment necessary.

'If, following the hearing, the panel decides that a breach of the code has been established, it shall impose a sanction that it considers appropriate having regard to the circumstances,' the Tour said in a statement. 'Such sanctions may range from a reprimand, a censure, a fine, a suspension of Membership, a suspension from participation in one or more tournaments or for a given period, or expulsion from the European Tour, or otherwise as the panel shall determine.'

According to a report from the Daily Mail, the last time a similar panel was convened was in early 2011, when Scot Eliot Saltman was given a three-month suspension for repeatedly marking his ball incorrectly at a mini-tour event.

While the timing for the hearing was not announced, the Daily Mail report indicates the panel will likely convene at the end of November. Such timing could put the end of Dyson's 2013 campaign in flux, as he is currently slated to participate in next week's Turkish Airlines Open with an eye on making the season-ending DP World Tour Championship in Dubai.

Dyson reportedly denied any intentional wrongdoing over the incident.

'I have never deliberately broken the rules either on this occasion or in the past,' said Dyson. 'It was only after I was shown the replay of my action after marking the ball on the eighth green during the second round that I realized what I had done and that I was in breach. I immediately accepted that I should be disqualified ... It was simply an accidental mistake.'