Skip to main content

HOF to review induction criteria; no ceremony in '14

Golf Talk Central
Getty Images

The World Golf Hall of Fame will forego an induction ceremony in May 2014 as it reviews how players are inducted.

In a release Monday, the Hall of Fame said the “strategic review” is ongoing, which includes an “evaluation of the criteria and process for electing/selecting all five avenues of induction and a review of the production of the annual Induction Ceremony, including date, location and presentation.”

The next induction ceremony will be held May 4, 2015.

The current criteria calls for players on the PGA Tour to be at least 40 years old, a member for 10 years, with at least 10 PGA Tour wins, two majors or two Players titles.

On the Champions Tour, a player must be at least a five-year member with more than 20 wins on the PGA and Champions tours, or five majors or Players wins.

The PGA Tour voting body, which consists of golf writers, historians and golf dignitaries, determines which players are elected through this category each year. To be elected, a player must receive 65 percent of the returned ballots. If no candidate receives 65 percent, then the nominee who receives the most votes with at least 50 percent is elected.

That’s the same process for the International ballot, which calls for men or women to be at least 40 years old and earn 50 cumulative points from major wins, international wins, or Ryder, Presidents or Solheim Cup participation.

As for the LPGA, the inductee must be an active member for 10 years and exceed the cumulative 27-point system based on LPGA wins, including a major, Vare Trophy or Rolex Player of the Year.