Skip to main content

Kuchar caddie avoid penalty at the 12th

Golf Talk Central
Getty Images

AUGUSTA, Ga. – Matt Kuchar was sure a television review would clear his caddie of a possible rules violation at the 12th hole Friday at the Masters.

He was right.

After his ball plugged in the hazard in front of the 12th green, his caddie, Lance Bennett, attempted to identify the ball. After the round, the question was raised over whether Bennett broke the rules touching the grass or water within the hazard attempting to determine whether it was Kuchar’s ball. Kuchar was whisked away to tournament headquarters in a cart for a TV review before signing his scorecard.

“I was pretty confident,” Kuchar said. “My caddie and I may not know all the Rules of Golf, but we know what you can and can’t do in a hazard.”

Kuchar made a double-bogey 5 after taking a drop. No additional penalty was added. He ended up making the cut by two shots.