Skip to main content

McIlroy trying to turn hot start into victory

Golf Talk Central
Getty Images

BETHESDA, Md. – Rory McIlroy will be looking to become the 20th player in U.S. Open history to turn a first-round lead into a victory.

The last player to accomplish that feat was Tiger Woods in 2002 at Bethpage.

Only six players have won wire-to-wire with solo leads after the first three rounds: Woods (2000, ’02), Tony Jacklin (1970), Ben Hogan (1953), James Barnes (1921) and Walter Hagen (1914). Fourteen players have won wire-to-wire with the lead or sharing the lead.