Skip to main content

Players take big risk as Presidents Cup qualifying winds down

Zach Johnson
Getty Images

Two events remain before the rosters for both the U.S. and International teams for this year's Presidents Cup are finalized. As players begin the FedEx Cup Playoffs this week at Liberty National, several Americans in this week's field will have their eyes on a second points race, where each dollar earned will put them two points closer to a spot on Fred Couples' team at Muirfield Village this October.

Here's how things stand following the Wyndham Championship, where Webb Simpson jumped from 12th to 10th in the U.S. standings thanks to a final-round 63 at Sedgefield. Though both remain near the bubble, Zach Johnson and Steve Stricker have opted out of The Barclays this week, potentially creating an opening for those players directly below them in the standings to make a move:

1. Tiger Woods (21,537,771 points)

2. Brandt Snedeker (14,998,127)

3. Phil Mickelson (14,344,474)

4. Matt Kuchar (14,111,215)

5. Keegan Bradley (10,394,284)

6. Jason Dufner (10,342,372)

7. Bill Haas (10,236,876)

8. Hunter Mahan (9,595,188)

9. Zach Johnson (9,078,762)

10. Webb Simpson (8,873,636)

11. Steve Stricker (8,703,084)

12. Dustin Johnson (8,681,908)

13. Jim Furyk (8,043,663)

14. Bubba Watson (7,816,908)

28. Jordan Spieth (5,262,439)

The standings for the International team, which are based on the Official World Golf Ranking, remain unchanged heading into this week's event in New Jersey:

1. Adam Scott (Fourth in OWGR)

2. Ernie Els (16th)

3. Charl Schwartzel (17th)

4. Jason Day (18th)

5. Louis Oosthuizen (21st)

6. Hideki Matsuyama (28th)

7. Branden Grace (31st)

8. Richard Sterne (35th)

9. Angel Cabrera (46th)

10. Tim Clark (55th)

11. Thongchai Jaidee (58th)

12. Marc Leishman (63rd)

13. George Coetzee (73rd)

14. Graham DeLaet (76th)

The top 10 for both teams will be finalized following the final round of the Deutsche Bank Championship on Sept. 2. Captains Fred Couples and Nick Price will then each add two selections on Sept. 4 to round out each respective 12-man roster.

The Presidents Cup will be held Oct. 3-6 at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio.