Skip to main content

Recent champs grouped at Wegmans LPGA

Shanshan Feng
Getty Images

PITTSFORD, N.Y. – The last three winners of the Wegmans LPGA Championship are scheduled to play together in the first two rounds at Locust Hill Country Club.

Defending champ Shanshan Feng, 2011 champ Yani Tseng and 2010 champ Cristie Kerr are grouped together Thursday off the 10th tee at 1:10 p.m. ET. They’re scheduled to go off the first tee Friday at 8:10 a.m.

Tseng withdrew from Wednesday’s pro-am with a sore throat. She’s being treated for tonsillitis and wanted the rest in hopes of being ready Thursday. Players are allowed to withdraw from one LPGA pro-am per year without penalty. Kerr also WD’d from Wednesday’s pro-am because of elbow tendonitis.

Wegmans LPGA Championship: Articles, videos and photos

In other marquee pairings:

Rolex world No. 1 Inbee Park is grouped with Paula Creamer and Jessica Korda (Thursday, 8:10 a.m.; Friday, 1:20 p.m.).

Rolex world No. 2 Stacy Lewis is grouped with Lexi Thompson and Carlota Ciganda (Thursday, 7:59 a.m.; Friday, 1:09 p.m.).

Rolex world No. 3 Suzann Pettersen is grouped with Hall of Famer Karrie Webb and Rolex Rookie of the Year points leader Moriya Jutanugarn (Thursday, 12:59 p.m.; Friday, 7:59 a.m.).

Michelle Wie is grouped with teen phenom Lydia Ko, who at 15 became the youngest winner of an LPGA event, and with Mitsuki Katahira, who takes the place of 17-year-old Ariya Jutanugarnat after she withdrew Wednesday with a shoulder injury (Thursday, 12:37 p.m.; Friday, 7:37 a.m.).