Skip to main content

Yokohama Tire sponsors LPGA event in Alabama

Getty Images

The LPGA event in Prattville, Ala., has secured Yokohama Tire Corporation as its new title sponsor.

The Yokohama Tire LPGA Classic will be played Sept. 18-21 on the Senator Course at Capital Hill on the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail. The event was dropped from the schedule last year because of the loss of title sponsorship but returned to this year’s schedule, originally as the Alabama LPGA Classic.

The event was launched in 2007 with Maria Hjorth winning what was originally called the Navistar LPGA Classic. Lorena Ochoa won the event in ’08 and ’09 with Katherine Hull winning in ’10, Lexi Thompson in ’11 and Stacy Lewis in ’12.