Skip to main content

You Oughta Know: Open

Brooks Koepka
Getty Images
Feeling no pressure from her former Big Break Atlantis competitors watching, Marcela Leon strokes a putt to the hole.  - 

SAN MARTIN, Calif. – Brooks Koepka leads George McNeill and Jason Kokrak by two strokes through 54 holes of the Open. Here are some things You Oughta Know entering the final round at CordeValle Golf Club.

• Koepka is competing in his first career regular Tour event. He has four wins on the European Challenge Tour, two of which came as the leader entering the final round.

• Koepka is in this week on a sponsor exemption. Lee Westwood was the last player to win a Tour event on a sponsor invite, doing so at the 2010 Fedex St. Jude Classic. Before that, Jason Gore won the 2005 84 Lumber Classic.

• McNeill won the Las Vegas-area Open benefiting Shriners Hospitals for Children in 2007. It is now the Shriners Hospitals for Children Open, not this week's event.

Vijay Singh, who is three off the lead, has won 34 times on the PGA Tour. That is 29 more Tour wins than the combined total of the rest of the players inside the top 20 on the leaderboard.

• Other than Singh, only McNeill (2), Robert Garrigus (1) and Will MacKenzie (2) have PGA Tour wins, among the top 20 on the leaderboard.

• Neither of McNeill’s two Tour wins (’07 Shriners, 2012 Puerto Rico Open) came with a Masters invitation. Such is on offer for this week’s winner. As is $900,000

• This is the seventh edition of the Open. Only two 54-hole leaders have held on to win: Troy Matteson (2009) and Rocco Mediate (2010). Mediate is the only player to do it at CordeValle.

Jimmy Walker, three back at 12 under, had the best 2013 final-round scoring average among those within five of the lead. He was 16th on Tour, at 69.89.

• Two winners have made the Open their first PGA Tour victory: Bryce Molder (2011) and Blixt.

• Three of the previous six Open events have gone into a playoff.

• Only two non-Americans have won: Canadian Mike Weir (2007) and Swede Jonas Blixt (2012).