Skip to main content

Sorenstam Returns to Wykagyl

Annika Sorenstam returns to Wykagyl Country Club in New Rochelle, NY -home of the Sybase Big Apple Classic - in defense of her 2000 title.
Designed and built in 1905 by native New Yorker Laurence Van Etten ' Wykagyl has, at the urging of its membership, made many changes over the years.
Redesigns and renovations by some of golfs most respected architects ' including Donald Ross (1916) A.W. Tillinghast (1931) and most recently Arthur Hills (1994) ' have resulted in an average green size of just over 4,000 feet, 22 acres of narrow fairway, 100 acres of rough and a variety of diversely-shaped greens.
In 1990 Wykagyl CC made another change.
It became the host course of the LPGA Tours Big Apple Classic and for the past 12 years ' for one week of the year - the ladies have called Wykagyl CC home.
Hall of Famer Betsy King captured the first two Big Apple Classic wins (1990, 1991) while fellow Hall of Famer members Juli Inkster(1992) and Beth Daniel(1994) took titles home in subsequent years.
Annika Sorenstam has won twice at this prestigious site (1998, 2000) and comes into this week in good shape to take home a third Big Apple Classic trophy.
The soft-spoken Swede took home her second Big Apple trophy last year at the conclusion of the rain-shortened event. Severe weather and unplayable conditions forced tournament officials to call Saturdays round and officially shorten the event to 54-holes.

Yet Sorenstam, undaunted by the interruption, went on to record 1-over-par on the final day. Her winning score of 206 (-7) edged out the rest of the field including fierce contender Rosie Jones by a single stroke.
Golf Course Superintendent Chip Lafferty has been busy grooming the course in preparation of the arrival of the 2001 field ' all of which have their eye on the $950,000 purse.
The result of his efforts - lighting fast greens and 3.5-inch rough await the arrival of this weeks competitors.
Play commences on Thursday.
Wykagyl CCs tournament record, held by Betsy King, was set during the 3rd round of the 1990 event where she shot 63 (-9). The lowest winning score at this event is held by Annika Sorenstam 265 (-19) and was set in 1998.