Skip to main content

Canadian Tour Heads to Mexico

Canadian Tour-LargeGUADALAJARA, Mexico--The Canadian Tour returns to Guadalajara for the second straight year this week with the Michelin Guadalajara Classic kicking off back-to-back stops in Mexico.
The scenic Atlas Golf and Country Club will play host to the Tours fifth official event of 2004, with competitors playing for a $130,000 purse. Opening round action gets underway Thursday.
After the Michelin Guadalajara Classic wraps up Sunday, the Tour will travel to Ixtapa for the third year in a row for the Corona Ixtapa Classic.
So far this season, the Tour has featured two repeat winners as well as a pair of first-time champions. All four winners hail from the United States, with Chris Wisler and Erik Compton having captured their second Canadian Tour titles and Brad Sutterfield and Ben Pettitt stepping into the winners circle for the first time.
Compton heads into this week looking to become the first Tour player to win back-to-back events since New Zealands Steven Alker won the final two tournaments of the 2000 season en route to the money crown. Coming off a win last week at the E-Loan Central Valley Classic in California, Compton would have to like his chances of repeating this week. Last May, the 24-year-old carded a final-round 63 at Guadalajara CC to win his first crown.
Of the four winners this season, only Wisler will not be in the starting field this week. If the American-born players are to continue to their unbeaten streak this year, players to keep an eye on include Compton, Sutterfield, Pettitt, Steve Scott, Mario Tiziani, Chris Wall, Nick Watney, Robert Hamilton, Craig Kanada, Conrad Ray and Kris Mikkelsen.
Rob McMillan of Winnipeg, MB is fifth on the Order of Merit and will go in search of his fourth Canadian Tour win this week. Several other Canadians will look to snap the U.S. dominance in Guadalajara, among them Craig Taylor, Darren Griff, Dan Swanson, Lee Curry, Adam Short, Doug McGuigan and Craig Matthew.
Alex Quiroz of Mexico, the 2002 MTS Classic champion, will be on his home soil as he guns for his second Tour triumph.