Skip to main content

Island Hopping

The PGA Tour jumps from Kapalua to Honolulu for the seasons first full-field event, the $4 million Sony Open in Hawaii.
Twenty-one of the 32 participants in last weeks Mercedes Championships will stay in the Aloha State, including defending Sony champion Brad Faxon.
Faxon led wire-to-wire last year, finishing the tournament at 20-under-par 260, four shots clear of runner-up Tom Lehman. Aside from his usual pristine putting, Faxon also recorded four eagles on the week ' as many as he made all of 2000.
This will be the 37th playing of the event. And for the 37th straight time the par-70, 7,060-yard Waialae Country Club will play host.
Seven past champions are scheduled to compete: Faxon, Jeff Sluman (1999), John Huston (1998), Jim Furyk (1996), John Cook (1992), Corey Pavin (1986, 87) and Mark OMeara (1985).
Huston set the tournament and PGA Tour 72-hole scoring records at 28-under-par 260 in his 98 triumph; Mark Calcavecchia equaled that score in relation to par in last years Phoenix Open.
The event was played over a par-72 layout over its first 34 years of existence. In that span, champions included Lee Trevino (1968), Jack Nicklaus (1974), Ben Crenshaw (1976) and Hale Irwin (1981). However, the most memorable Hawaiian Open was in 1983, when Isao Aoki holed his approach shot for an eagle on the 72nd hole to defeat Jack Renner (Renner did manage to win the event the following year).
While Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson and David Duval have opted to wait until the tour reaches the mainland, several top names will be vying for the $720,000 first-place prize.
Mercedes champion Sergio Garcia, last week's runner-up David Toms, Chris DiMarco, course-record (60, 1994) owner Davis Love III, Jesper Parnevik and Scott Hoch are in the field, as are 2001 Buy.Com Tour Player of the Year Chad Campbell, Charles Howell III, Gary Nicklaus, Fred Couples and recent Q-School graduate Boo Weekley.
Full field and stats for the Sony Open in Hawaii