Skip to main content

Presidents Cup Ryder Cup Switch Years

The PGA Tour announced Wednesday that The Presidents Cup will be competed in odd-numbered years.
The fifth playing of The Presidents Cup will now take place in November of 2003, rather than in 2002 as originally scheduled. The event will still be contested at The Links Golf Course at Fancourt Hotel and Country Club Estates in George, South Africa.
The decision comes in the aftermath of the Sept. 16 announcement of the postponement of the Ryder Cup Matches to Sept. 27-29, 2002.
In the wake of the terrorist attacks in the United States on Sept. 11, Ryder Cup officials chose to postpone the 34th Matches from Sept. 28-30, 2001 to the following year. As originally planned, the Ryder Cup will be played at The Devere Belfry in Sutton Coldfield, England.
'This new schedule provides the most effective response to the need to adjust our schedules in light of the recent tragedies,' said PGA Tour commissioner Tim Finchem. 'Going forward, these major international team competitors will simply reverse their original positions, with The Ryder Cup Matches played in the even-numbered years, and The Presidents Cup played in the odd-numbered years.'
Said PGA of America CEO Jim Awtrey: 'It appears to be the most logical solution given the situation we are dealing with.'
The 2002 Ryder Cup will be played the week following the World Golf Championship American Express Championship at Mount Juliet in Ireland. It will then return to the United States in 2004 at Oakland Hills Country Club outside Detroit.
The Ryder Cup, which began in 1927, involves a 12-man U.S. team against a team of 12 European-born players.

The Presidents Cup is a biennial international competition that pits a 12-man United States team against a team of 12 non-European players. It first started in 1994.
Full Coverage of the 34th Ryder Cup Matches