Skip to main content

Shootout at the OK Doral

The 'Shark' might be out of the name, but he's still in the game. Greg Norman will once again partner with fellow Australian Steve Elkington in the 12th annual Franklin Templeton Shootout at the Doral Resort and Spa in Miami, Fla.
The event, known primarily as the Shark Shootout for the past nine years, will be contested on the Norman-designed Great White course at Doral. It marks the first time in the tournament's history that it hasn't been played at the Sherwood Country Club in Thousand Oaks, Calif.
Though the name's changed, the host remains the same. Norman heads the $1.75 million event, and he'll be trying to win his tournament for the second time in the past three years.
Norman and Elkington won the Shootout in 1998, defeating John Cook and Peter Jacobsen in a playoff. Last year, David Duval and Fred Couples captured the $350,000 first-place prize.
This year, $400,000 will go to the victorious team, but there won't be a repeat winner. Neither Couples nor Duval are in the field this week. However, Jack Nicklaus and Arnold Palmer are competing. Nicklaus will team-up with his son, Gary, while Palmer will play alongside Jacobsen.
Play will begin Friday using the alternate shot format. Better ball will be in play on Saturday. The scramble format will be employed in Sunday's final round.
Greg Norman/Steve Elkington
Jack Nicklaus/Gary Nicklaus
Arnold Palmer/Peter Jacobsen
Adam Scott/Charles Howell III
John Cook/John Huston
Scott McCarron/Brad Faxon
Stewart Cink/Franklin Langham
Carlos Franco/Scott Hoch
Andrew Magee/Jay Haas
Chris DiMarco/Olin Browne
Ben Crenshaw/David Frost
Rocco Mediate/Corey Pavin