PGA Tour means business with anchor opposition

By Randall MellFebruary 25, 2013, 12:08 am

This feels like a showdown now.

We know what cards the PGA Tour is holding. We know what cards the U.S. Golf Association and Royal & Ancient Golf Club are holding. Now, it’s all a matter of who’s going to fold.

It’s that simple, no matter how diplomatically the governing bodies couch their attempts to resolve what has blown up into a clear and fundamental disagreement.

We moved into showdown mode Sunday at the WGC-Accenture Match Play Championship when PGA Tour commissioner Tim Finchem revealed that the Tour is strongly opposed to the proposed ban on anchored strokes put forth by the USGA and R&A.


Anchored putting: Check out more articles and video


“Essentially where the PGA Tour came down was that they did not think that banning anchoring was in the best interest of golf, or the PGA Tour,” Finchem said.

Finchem said the opposition to the proposed new rule among players is overwhelming. He said 13 of 15 members of the Players Advisory Council came down against the rule.

“I think the essential thread that went through the thinking of the players, and our board of directors, and others that looked at this was that in the absence of data, or any basis to conclude that there is a competitive advantage to be gained by using anchoring, and given the amount of time that anchoring has been in the game, that there was no overriding reason to go down that road,” Finchem said. 

With the designated comment period on the proposal ending this week, it’s now up to the USGA and R&A to decide if they are going to go all in on their proposal.

Are they actually going to follow through and implement a new definition of a stroke that will serve as a ban against anchoring putters and other strokes beginning in 2016?

Yes, the USGA and R&A sought a comment period, but they have resolutely laid out their belief that the game needs this new rule against anchoring. They did so with such earnestness that you would have to question how in touch the leadership is with its base to have gone this far and then back down.

“I would stress this is not a popularity contest, not an election,” R&A Chief Peter Dawson said when the new rule was proposed. “As the governing body, we are doing what we think is best for the game of golf, and this is our responsibility.”

USGA executive director Mike Davis was just as forceful back then.

“There is absolute alignment between the R&A and the USGA on this one,” Davis said. “The leadership feels strongly that it is in the best interests of the game.”

Given the impassioned nature of the USGA and R&A’s argument for the change, how can they back down now?

And how does the PGA Tour go against the will of its players and acquiesce to the rule change after making its own impassioned stance?

Asked point blank what the PGA Tour would do if push comes to shove, Finchem was non-commital.

“We hold the USGA in the highest regard as a key part of the game of golf,” Finchem said. “We don't attempt to denigrate that position in any way whatsoever. It's just on this issue, we think if they were to move forward, they would be making a mistake.”

For those of you who think the PGA Tour’s posturing, maybe so, but Finchem went out of his way to make the PGA Tour’s opposition about as public as you could make it. He revealed the Tour’s opinion Sunday in a news conference during the finals of the WGC-Accenture Match Play Championship. And then he went on the NBC telecast and explained the Tour’s position.

Would Finchem go that far in stating the Tour’s opposition if it intends to acquiesce? Why make such a strong public stance then?

It’s possible there is some compromise here we aren’t seeing coming. Maybe the Tour’s leveraging a compromise. Maybe, as some equipment sages have suggested, players using the long putters will be grandfathered into the PGA Tour’s adoption of the rule? That way, the PGA Tour’s long putters are protected, but the game’s future is left more securely in the USGA and R&A’s hands.

“There's no reason to assume that everybody is going to go down different paths,” Finchem said. “I just want to try to calm that sense down. I think that we ought to be able to have a discussion about this and come to conclusions without negativity. We also have reasons why we feel like the reasons put forward to do this are not compelling, and that's all we can do. We can give them our thoughts.”

So much of this give and take between the USGA, R&A and PGA Tour should have been done before we ever got here. It should have been done behind closed doors before the proposed rule ever went public.

There’s too much at stake to have this all hanging so publicly in the balance. Really, in a worst-case scenario, we could have long putters anchored at future Masters and PGA Championships while anchoring is against the rules at the U.S. Open and British Open. If that ever happens, the game’s damaged.

We could also easily see this all end without fuss, with uniform rules protected, but it feels like that is only going to happen if somebody backs down in this showdown. 

Getty Images

Koepka primed for CJ Cup win and world No. 1

By Golf Channel DigitalOctober 19, 2018, 6:00 am

Brooks Koepka wants a 2-for-1 at the CJ Cup. If he can collect his second non-major PGA Tour victory he can become world No. 1 for the first time in his career.

He’s in great position to accomplish his goal.

Koepka eagled the par-5 18th en route to a 7-under 65 in the second round at Nine Bridges in Juju Island, South Korea. At 8 under par, he is one back of 36-hole leader Scott Piercy (65).

Koepka, currently ranked third in the world, began the day three shots off the lead, but rapidly ascended the leaderboard. He birdied four of his first eight holes before finding trouble at the ninth. Koepka hooked his tee shot out of bounds, but the ninth is a par 5 and he was able to salvage bogey.


Full-field scores from the CJ Cup

CJ Cup: Articles, photos and videos

Current Official World Golf Ranking


That was his only dropped shot of the day.

The reigning Tour Player of the Year birdied the 12th and 14th holes in his bid to keep pace with Piercy. Koepka was two back as he played his final hole, where he knocked his second shot to 10 feet. He deftly converted the eagle effort to tie Piercy and earn a spot in Saturday’s final twosome. Piercy later pulled a shot ahead with a birdie at the ninth, his final hole of the day.

Koepka has officially won four PGA Tour events, but three of those are majors (2017, ’18 U.S. Open; 2018 PGA). His lone non-major win was the 2015 Waste Management Phoenix Open.

He can still reach world No. 1 with a solo second place, assuming Justin Thomas, currently world No. 4, doesn’t win this week.

That will take a mighty weekend effort by the defending champ.

Thomas also eagled the 18th hole to go from 1 over to 1 under. He shot 2-under 70 in the second round and is seven shots off the lead.

Getty Images

'Go in'? Yes, JT wants an ace at the par-4 14th

By Golf Channel DigitalOctober 19, 2018, 5:11 am

Justin Thomas didn’t hesitate after hitting his tee shot on the 353-yard, par-4 14th in Round 2 of the CJ Cup.

“Go in,” he immediately said.

“Please go in,” he added.



Thomas’ tee shot was on a great line, but it landed just short of the green. Surprisingly, it took three more shots for his ball to "go in." After birdies on Nos. 12 and 13, Thomas parred the 14th.

Getty Images

Watch: Dufner makes six (!) fist pumps after birdie

By Golf Channel DigitalOctober 19, 2018, 4:53 am

Jason Dufner makes Ben Stein seem like Jonathan Winters. Dufner often looks mighty miserable for someone who plays golf for a living.

But not on Friday at the CJ Cup!

Dufner made a 20-footer for birdie at the 16th hole and “celebrated” with one-two-three-(pause)-four-five-six fist pumps. There could have been more, but the camera cut away.



That was Dufner’s third birdie on the back nine, which offset a triple bogey at the par-3 seventh, en route to an even-par 72. Good times.

Getty Images

Watch: Paul C-ace-y makes hole-in-one at CJ Cup

By Golf Channel DigitalOctober 19, 2018, 2:35 am

Par-par-par-par-par-par. It was a boring second round over the first six holes for Paul Casey at the CJ Cup.

And then he aced the par-3 seventh.



Casey's tee shot from 176 tracked straight towards the hole and rolled in near the final revolution. That got him to 2 under par for the tournament. He was five off the lead, held by Chez Reavie, but bogeyed the ninth and 10th holes to give back those two strokes.

Hey, it's a no-cut event and a guaranteed paycheck. Drinks on Casey!