Skip to main content

Brunos Looking for First Repeat Winner

04 BrunoA perfect 12-for-12. The Brunos Memorial Classic is the only event on the Champions Tour schedule that has been played at least 12 years and is still looking for a repeat winner. Tom Jenkins will try to end the streak, as he defends his title this week.
Trailing by one shot heading into the final round, Jenkins outdueled Hale Irwin with a Sunday 67 for the victory. For the week, Jenkins made 18 birdies and had only two bogeys, as he defeated Bruce Fleisher by three. Jenkins needed only 78 putts over 54 holes, while Fleisher needed 84.
Irwin finished tied for third after a closing 73. Irwins streak of 17 straight rounds of par or better at Greystone ended during the final round. When Irwin captured this event in 2001, he became the first player since Gary Player in 1998 at the Northville Long Island Classic to shoot the same score all three days and win. Irwin set a tournament record of 195 with his three consecutive 65s.
Fleisher was only one behind with three to play, but bogeyed 16 and 18. Dana Quigley has fared well at this event with a pair of runner-up finishes in 1999 and 2002 and a third-place result in 2000. Quigley has posted 18 consecutive rounds of par or better, as he tied for 20th.
Since its inception in 1992, no winner of this event has shot a round higher than 71 and nine of the 12 winners have started with rounds in the 60s.
There have been three playoffs in Brunos history, with the addition of 2002 event when Sammy Rachels defeated Quigley. The first overtime session was in 1996, when John Bland prevailed over Kermit Zarley and John Paul Cain despite a bogey-six on the third extra hole.
In 2000, John Jacobs came from six strokes back to earn a spot in a playoff with Gil Morgan. Jacobs bested Morgan with a par-5 on the first extra hole. Greystone Golf Club has hosted this event since its inception in 1992.
The Champions Tour moves to Texas next week for the Kinkos Classic, where Irwin is the defending champion.
Related links:
  • TGC Airtimes

  • Full Coverage - Brunos Memorial Classic