Skip to main content

Franklin Templeton Shootout moves to Tiburon

The 2001 Franklin Templeton Shootout will be played on the Greg Norman-designed Tiburon Golf Course in Naples, Florida, from November 7-11, 2001, a change in venue from last year's event that was held at the famed Doral Golf Resort and Spa in Miami.
Norman, who founded the PGA Tour-sanctioned event with his wife, Laura, in 1989 for the benefit of children's charities, chose to move the tournament across the state after Tiburon's development progressed more quickly than anticipated. The plan had been to take the Franklin Templeton Shootout to Tiburon in 2002.
'With the clubhouse now open and the majority of Tiburon's infrastructure complete, we're able to conduct the event there this year,' Norman said. 'When we moved from Southern California, our goal was to eventually take the event to Tiburon. It will be a tremendous venue for the tournament and serve as a spectacular site for both spectators and participants.'
The Tournament was played for 11 years in Southern California at the Sherwood Country Club prior to moving to Florida. The $2 million tournament features a unique format of 12 two-man teams competing in alternate shot, better ball and scramble formats.
Past Franklin Templeton Shootout winners include 2000 champions Brad Faxon and Scott McCarron; Fred Couples and David Duval (1999); Norman and Steve Elkington (1998); Jay Haas and Tom Kite (1996); Curtis Strange and Mark O'Meara (1989).
Click here for more golf news!