Inkster Holds Clubhouse Lead Wie Penalized

By Sports NetworkAugust 4, 2006, 4:00 pm
2006 Weetabix WomenLYTHAM ST. ANNES, England -- Michelle Wie made one big mistake at the Women's British Open on Friday, while Juli Inkster maintained her three-shot lead by avoiding too many.
 
Inkster overcame three bogeys with a trio of birdies to shoot even-par 72, heading into the weekend at 6-under-par 138 and looking for her eighth career major victory.
 
'Sometimes in a major championship you've just got to grind it out, and today was one of those days,' said Inkster, who fired a 66 Thursday. 'I'm very happy with the way I shot.'
 
Juli Inkster
Despite managing just an even-par 72 in Rd. 2, Juli Inkster still holds a three-shot lead.
Inkster played Royal Lytham & St. Annes' par 5s at even-par on Friday after she was minus-5s on them Thursday. The biggest difference, she said, was the play of her driver.
 
'I just never hit it solid,' she admitted. 'It got me in a little bit of trouble, especially on the par fives where you need a birdie.'
 
Wie was assessed a two-stroke penalty for making contact with a piece of moss during her backswing in a greenside bunker at the par-4 14th, giving her a triple-bogey on the hole.
 
She wasn't notified until her round was over that what she thought was an even-par 72 was actually her second consecutive 74.
 
'I just could not get anything going, and it's not good after you play that you add two more shots,' said Wie, who is tied for 36th place at 4-over.
 
Wie was penalized because the rules specifically state that a player's club cannot make contact with a sand trap before the stroke. A stroke is defined only as the forward motion of the club.
 
'I knew I hit the moss, but I guess I knew the rule wrong,' Wie said. 'What I always knew from the rule ever since I started playing golf was that if you swing through it, it would be OK. It is a good learning experience.'
 
Wie drained an 8-foot birdie putt at the par-5 11th to get as low as plus-1 in her round. But she missed badly on a short birdie putt at 12 before botching the 14th.
 
Last year, of course, Wie was able to overcome an opening-round 75 with back-to-back 67s and a Sunday 69 to finish tied for third place at her first Women's British Open.
 
But at 10 stokes back heading into the weekend, Wie is in jeopardy of finishing outside the top-5 for the first time at a major this season.
 
Her infraction Friday was reminiscent of the one she made at last year's Samsung World Championship, where Wie was disqualified in her first professional start for taking a drop in the wrong place.
 
Wie, 16, joked Friday that the rule book is 'not actually great reading material.'
 
'[B]ut I am going to definitely call a rules official if something questionable happens,' she said.
 
Annika Sorenstam -- perhaps golf's biggest rule bookworm, man or woman -- is tied for seventh place at minus-1 following a 71. Sorenstam, the 2003 winner at Royal Lytham & St. Annes, opened with a 72 Thursday.
 
'A few missed shots out there makes it really tough because this golf course is so challenging,' Sorenstam said.
 
The world No. 1 finds herself missing opportunities on the same holes Inkster did Friday.
 
'I've been hitting the ball well,' Sorenstam said. 'I just haven't been capitalizing on the par 5s.'
 
Behind Inkster, Silvia Cavalleri is alone in second place at 3-under 141 after matching the leader with a 72. Cavalleri was tied with Inkster, but triple-bogeyed the 17th.
 
Lorie Kane and 2004 champion Karen Stupples both shot 69 and share third place with Candie Kung (70) and Lindsey Wright (71) at 2-under 142.
 
Tied with Sorenstam one shot further back are reigning LPGA Rookie of the Year Paula Creamer (71), leading Ladies European Tour player Gwladys Nocera (73), Il Mi Chung (71), two-time Women's British winner Sherri Steinhauer (70) and former champion Sophie Gustafson (67).
 
That's a lot of top-flight talent on Inkster's heels, but she has a milestone in her sights: the Super Career Grand Slam.
 
Only Karrie Webb has achieved what is called the Super Career Grand Slam -- winning the Kraft Nabisco Championship, the LPGA Championship, the U.S. Women's Open, the Women's British Open and the du Marier Classic, which was a major until it was replaced by the British in 2001.
 
If Inkster wins this weekend, she would become the second.
 
Technically, Inkster has already accomplished the Career Grand Slam by winning the first four majors she played (she completed it by claiming the LPGA Championship and U.S. Women's Open in 1999, the same year she became a member of the Hall of Fame).
 
Only the British has eluded her, with her best finish being a tie for 15th place last year.
 
Inkster, 46, could also become the oldest woman to win a major this weekend. (Fay Crocker was 45 when she won the Titleholders Championship in 1960.)
 
'I don't think age has anything to do with it. I just like to win,' said Inkster, who became the third-oldest woman ever to win a major when she claimed the 2002 U.S. Open at age 42.
 
'I've never won the British Open...But I've got to figure that driver out before I can even think about that.'
 
Webb, meanwhile, had a double-bogey and four bogeys Friday and shot a 10-over 82 to miss the cut at plus-14.
 
The cut line fell at plus-7 with 71 players advancing. Also missing the cut were Pat Hurst, Mi Hyun Kim and Carin Koch.
 
Se Ri Pak, the 2001 Women's British Open champion and reigning LPGA Championship winner, withdrew before the second round with a neck injury.
 
Related Links:
  • Leaderboard - Women's British Open
  • Full Coverage - Women's British Open
  • TV Airtimes
  • Getty Images

    Van Rooyen holes putt after ball-marker ruling

    By Ryan LavnerJuly 20, 2018, 4:50 pm

    CARNOUSTIE, Scotland – Erik van Rooyen was surveying his 10-footer for par, trying to get a feel for the putt, when his putter slipped out of his hand and dropped onto his ball marker.

    The question, then, was whether that accident caused his coin to move.

    The rules official looked at various camera angles but none showed definitively whether his coin moved. The ruling was made to continue from where his coin was now positioned, with no penalty.

    This was part of the recent rules changes, ensuring there is no penalty if the ball or ball maker is accidently moved by the player. The little-used rule drew attention in 2010, when Ian Poulter accidentally dropped his ball on his marker in Dubai and wound up losing more than $400,000 in bonus and prize money.

    After the delay to sort out his ruling Friday, van Rooyen steadied himself and made the putt for par, capping a day in which he shot even-par 71 and kept himself in the mix at The Open. He was at 4-under 138, just two shots off the clubhouse lead.

    “I wanted to get going and get this 10-footer to save par, but I think having maybe just a couple minutes to calm me down, and then I actually got a different read when I sat down and looked at it again,” he said. “Good putt. Happy to finish that way.”

    Getty Images

    Lyle birdies last hole in likely his final Open start

    By Ryan LavnerJuly 20, 2018, 4:32 pm

    CARNOUSTIE, Scotland – If this was Sandy Lyle’s final Open appearance, he went out in style.

    Playing on the final year of his automatic age exemption, the 60-year-old Scot buried a 30-foot birdie on the last hole. He missed the cut after shooting 9-over 151 over two rounds.

    “I was very light-footed,” he said. “I was on cloud nine walking down the 18th. To make birdie was extra special.”


    Full-field scores from the 147th Open Championship

    Full coverage of the 147th Open Championship


    Lyle, who also won the 1988 Masters, has missed the cut in his last eight majors, dating to 2014. He hasn’t been competitive in The Open since 1998, when he tied for 19th.

    To continue playing in The Open, Lyle needed to finish in the top 10 here at Carnoustie. He’d earn a future exemption by winning the Senior British Open.

    “More punishment,” he said.

    Getty Images

    DJ, Thomas miss cut at Open; No. 1 up for grabs

    By Ryan LavnerJuly 20, 2018, 3:35 pm

    CARNOUSTIE, Scotland – The top two players in the world both missed the cut at The Open, creating the possibility of a shakeup at the top of the rankings by the end of the weekend.

    Dustin Johnson became the first world No. 1 since Luke Donald in 2011 to miss the cut at the year’s third major.

    Johnson played solidly for all but the closing stretch. Over two rounds, he was 6 over par on the last three holes. He finished at 6-over 148.


    Full-field scores from the 147th Open Championship

    Full coverage of the 147th Open Championship


    Thomas added to what’s been a surprisingly poor Open record. Just like last year, when he struggled in the second round in the rain at Royal Birkdale, Thomas slumped to a 77 on Friday at Carnoustie, a round that included three consecutive double bogeys on Nos. 6-8. He finished at 4-over 146.

    It’s Thomas' first missed cut since The Open last year. Indeed, in three Open appearances, he has two missed cuts and a tie for 53rd.  

    With Johnson and Thomas out of the mix, the No. 1 spot in the rankings is up for grabs this weekend.

    Justin Rose, Brooks Koepka and Jon Rahm all can reach No. 1 with a victory this week.

    Getty Images

    TT Postscript: Woods (71) makes cut, has work to do

    By Tiger TrackerJuly 20, 2018, 3:32 pm

    CARNOUSTIE, Scotland – Here are a few things I think I think after Tiger Woods shot a second consecutive even-par 71 Friday in the second round. And yes, he made the cut:

    • Tiger said all 71s are not created equal. On Thursday, he made three birdies and three bogeys. On Friday, he made four birdie and four bogeys. Which round was better? The first. His theory is that, despite the rain, conditions were easier in the second round and there were more scoring opportunities. He didn't take advantage.

    • This is the first time since the 2013 Open at Royal Lytham & St. Annes that Tiger shot par or better in each of the first two rounds of a major. That’s quite a long time ago.

    • Stat line for the day: 11 of 15 fairways, 13 of 18 greens, 32 total putts. Tiger hit one driver and two 3-woods on Thursday and four drivers on Friday, only one which found the fairway. An errant drive at the second led to him sniping his next shot into the gallery

     


    Full-field scores from the 147th Open Championship

    Full coverage of the 147th Open Championship


    • In his own words: “I could have cleaned up the round just a little bit. I got off to not exactly the best start, being 2 over through three, but got it back. The golf course was a little bit softer today, obviously. It rains, and we were able to get the ball down a little bit further, control the ball on the ground a little bit easier today, which was nice.”

    • At some point Tiger is going to have to be more aggressive. He will be quite a few shots off the lead by day’s end and he'll have a lot of ground to make up. Hitting irons off the tee is great for position golf, but it’s often leaving him more than 200 yards into the green. Not exactly a range for easy birdies.

    • Sure, it’s too soon to say Tiger can’t win a fourth claret jug, but with so many big names ahead of him on the leaderboard, it’s unlikely. Keep in mind that a top-six finish would guarantee him a spot in the WGC: Bridgestone Invitational in two weeks. At The Players, he stated that this was a big goal.

    • My Twitter account got suspended momentarily when Tiger was standing over a birdie putt on the 17th green. That was the most panicked I’ve been since Tiger was in contention at the Valspar.