Skip to main content

Masters Champ Stricker in Shootout Field

NAPLES, Fla. -- Tournament host Greg Norman announced the field for this year's Merrill Lynch Shootout, scheduled for December 7-9 at Tiburon Golf Club.
World No. 5 Steve Stricker is the newest and highest-ranked participant.
'Steve's remarkable run started last year when his peers voted him Comeback Player of the Year,' said Norman. 'Then he came out this season and played even better. His presence greatly enhances what I believe is the best field we have assembled since moving to Naples seven years ago.'
Also added this week were Masters champion Zach Johnson, Rookie of the Year candidate Anthony Kim, Scott McCarron, former PGA Champion Steve Elkington and Champions Tour members Jeff Sluman and Scott Hoch.
Johnson is not the only winner this year on the PGA TOUR to commit to the event. Presidents Cup favorite Woody Austin, Charles Howell III, Fred Funk, Mark Calcavecchia, Scott Verplank and Justin Leonard all joined the field.
Defending champions Jerry Kelly and Rod Pampling previously committed to the field. Kenny Perry, Stewart Cink, Nick Price, Chris DiMarco, Fred Couples, John Daly, Mark O'Meara and Camilo Villegas also announced their participation prior to this week.
Norman rounds out the field and said he will form the teams and pairings by the end of the month.