Skip to main content

Presidents Cup Set to Get Underway

MONTREAL, Canada - The Presidents Cup was developed to give the world's best non-European players an opportunity to compete in team international match-play competition.
This year's event features some of the highest-ranked players in the world, including eight of the top 10 and 14 of the top 20.
The competition is played in non-Ryder Cup years and consists of 34 matches: six foursome matches on Thursday afternoon; six four-ball matches on Friday; five foursome matches and five four-ball matches on Saturday; and 12 singles matches involving all players on Sunday.
Each singles match is played to conclusion as needed. All matches are worth one point each, for a total of 34 points.
South African Gary Player will make his third consecutive appearance as the International Team captain, while the American contingent will be skippered for the fourth time by Jack Nicklaus.
In 2005, Chris DiMarco rolled in a 12-foot birdie putt at the last hole to defeat Stuart Appleby and win The Presidents Cup for the United States. DiMarco's birdie gave the United States the 18 points needed to win the Cup.
In the end, the United States won 18 1/2 - 15 1/2, giving captain Nicklaus his first Presidents Cup win in three tries as the leader. It was the first American victory in a Presidents Cup or Ryder Cup since the 2000 Presidents Cup.
Related Links:
  • United States Report Card
  • International Report Card
  • Full Coverage - Presidents Cup