Skip to main content

Haskins Award Watch List: Oklahoma State's Wolff, Hovland at the top

Getty Images

The Fred Haskins Award presented by Stifel is awarded annually to the most outstanding men’s college golfer, as voted on by players, coaches and media members. Past winners of the Haskins Award include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson and Ben Crenshaw.

With conference championships approaching, here is a look at the top Haskins contenders, as determined by our Golf Channel college experts:

Matthew Wolff, Soph., Oklahoma State

Golfstat ranking: 1

Wins: 5 (Carmel Cup, Olympia Fields/Fighting Illini Invitational, Amer Ari Invitational, Valspar Collegiate and Royal Oaks Intercollegiate)

Other results: Second, Querencia Cabo Collegiate; eighth, East Lake Cup; T-11, ASU Thunderbird Collegiate; T-14, The Prestige

Viktor Hovland, Jr., Oklahoma State

Golfstat ranking: 3

Wins: 3 (The Prestige, Royal Oaks Intercollegiate and East Lake Cup)

Other results: T-5, Valspar Collegiate; T-6, Olympia Fields/Fighting Illini Invitational; eighth, Amer Ari Invitational

Collin Morikawa, Sr., Cal

Golfstat ranking: 2

Wins: 1 (The Farms Invitatiional)

Other results: second, Olympia Fields/Fighting Illini Invitational; second, Alister Mackenzie Invitational; third, Ka’anapali Classic; third, Southwestern Invitational; T-3, The Goodwin; T-4, Southern Highlands Collegiate; T-5, Tavistock Collegiate

Justin Suh, USC

Golfstat ranking: 4

Wins: 2 (Golf Club of Georgia Collegiate, Southwestern Invitational)

Other results: second, National Invitational Tournament; T-4, Olympia Fields/Fighting Illini Invitational; T-4, Amer Ari Invitational; T-10, Nike Golf Collegiate; T-14, The Goodwin; T-15, St. Mary’s Invitational

Bryson Nimmer, Clemson

Golfstat ranking: 10

Wins: 4 (Carpet Capital Collegiate, Maui Jim Invitational, Clemson Invitational and Puerto Rico Classic)

Other results: second, John Hayt Collegiate; second, Nike Golf Collegiate; seventh, Cleveland Golf/Palmetto Invitational; seventh, Golf Club of Georgia Collegiate; 57th, Ka’anapali Classic


  • Chun An Yu, Jr., Arizona State (5)
  • John Pak, Soph., Florida State (9)
  • Will Gordon, Sr., Vanderbilt (8)
  • Cole Hammer, Fr., Texas (11)
  • Steven Fisk, Sr., Georgia Southern (18)