Skip to main content

Clark, Scott among Day 1 winners at Tavistock Cup

Adam Scott
Getty Images

While the Arnold Palmer Invitational was wrapping up at Bay Hill on Monday, the Tavistock Cup began with a format change. Because of the PGA Tour’s Monday finish, the Tavistock Cup, also being contested in Orlando, Fla., was reduced to an 18-hole singles stroke-play event on Tuesday.

Monday’s play was contested in a fourball better-ball format at Isleworth. Here are the results, which will not count toward the official Tavistock Cup.

Paul McGinley and Tom Lewis (5 under) defeated Bob Tway and Scott Verplank (2 under).

Peter Hanson and Webb Simpson (6 under) defeated Brian Davis and D.A. Points (3 under).

Tim Clark and Adam Scott (8 under) defeated Ross Fisher and Graeme McDowell (7 under).

Fred Couples and Jay Haas (7 under) defeated Bo Van Pelt and Bubba Watson (6 under).

Simpson, Verplank, Clark and Lewis won the closest to the pin competitions.