Skip to main content

Masters Tournament Timeline

In 1934, the first Masters Tournament, known then as the Augusta National Invitational Tournament, was contested. Horton Smith defeated Craig Wood by a stroke to win the first of his two Masters titles. Here's some Masters history since that first event, 75 years ago.


1935: Seven-time major champion Gene Sarazen hits the shot heard round the world as he holes his approach from the fairway on the par-5 15th for double eagle. Sarazen would then defeat Craig Wood in a 36-hole playoff the following day.
1942: Byron Nelson defeats rival Ben Hogan in an 18-hole playoff to obtain his second Masters victory.
1943-45: No tournament is played due to World War II.
1949: Sam Snead wins his first of three Masters titles by three strokes over Johnny Bulla and Lloyd Mangrum. This is also the first year in which the famous green jacket is awarded to the champion.
1951: While continuing his comeback from an automobile accident just two years prior, Hogan wins his first of two Masters titles.
1956: Jackie Burke Jr. rallies from a tournament record eight shots back to defeat amateur Ken Venturi by one stroke after Venturi shoots a final-round 80.
Gary Player, Arnold Palmer and Jack Nicklaus
Player, Palmer and Nicklaus combined to win 13 Masters titles. (Getty Images)
1958: Arnold Palmer wins his first of four Masters while Sports Illustrated writer Herbert Warren Wind first uses the term Amen Corner to describe holes 11 through 13.
1961: Gary Player becomes the Masters first international champion as he defeats Palmer and amateur Charles Coe by one shot after Palmer makes double bogey-6 on the 72nd hole.
1963: Jack Nicklaus wins his first Masters title by defeating 1964 British Open champion Tony Lema by one shot.
1964: Palmer wins his fourth and final Masters by six shots over Nicklaus and Dave Marr. The victory would also be the final major championship win of Palmers career.
1965: Nicklaus sets a tournament scoring record of 271 (17 under par) for a nine-stroke victory over rivals Palmer and Player.
1966: Nicklaus becomes the first to successfully defend the Masters after he defeats Tommy Jacobs and 1967 champion Gay Brewer in an 18-hole playoff.
1970: Billy Casper captures his third and final major championship in an 18-hole playoff against 1961 U.S. Open champion Gene Littler.
1975: In a heated battle, Nicklaus defeats Tom Weiskopf and Johnny Miller by one shot after he holes a 38-foot putt on the par-3 16th. The putt leads to Nicklaus fifth Masters title and 13th major championship victory overall.
1976: Raymond Floyd wins his first and only green jacket in historical fashion as he ties Jack Nicklaus overall score of 271 en route to an eight-shot victory over future two-time Masters champion Ben Crenshaw.
1978: Player wins his third and final Masters Tournament after firing a final-round 64, which includes a back-nine score of 30. This would also be the ninth and final major championship victory of Players career.
1979: Fuzzy Zoeller becomes the first golfer since Gene Sarazen to win the Masters in his first appearance, 44 years after Sarazens shot heard round the world. Zoeller defeats Ed Sneed and two-time champion Tom Watson on the second hole of the first sudden-death playoff in Masters history.
1985: After starting with an 80, Curtis Strange shoots 65 during the second round to make the cut and to contend in the tournament. Stranges good play continues until the final round as Bernard Langer shoots 68 to surpass him and win his first Masters by two shots.
1986: In perhaps the most memorable and emotional Masters of all time, 46-year-old Jack Nicklaus wins his sixth and final Masters Tournament for his 18th professional major championship victory, with his son Jackie as his caddie. Nicklaus shoots a final-round 65, which includes a back nine of 30 to defeat Greg Norman and Tom Kite by one shot.
Larry Mize
Larry Mize reacts to his miracle chip-in to win his hometown major. (Getty Images)
1987: During one of Greg Normans heartbreaking losses at the Masters, Augusta, Ga., native Larry Mize chips in from 140 feet to defeat Norman on the second hole of sudden death. Mizes shot will be forever remembered as one of the most miraculous shots in golf history.
1990: Nick Faldo becomes only the second golfer in Masters history to successfully defend his title after he defeats Floyd on the second sudden-death playoff hole. Faldo won his first Masters a year earlier after defeating Scott Hoch on the second sudden-death playoff hole as well. Hoch had missed a 36-inch putt on the first extra hole to win.
1992: Fred Couples wins his first and only major championship by two strokes over Floyd. The championship is remembered primarily for Couples big break on the par-3 12th, in which his ball stopped inches from the Rae's Creek. Couples was able to get up and down for par.
1995: During an emotional week, Ben Crenshaw defeats Davis Love III by one stroke for his second Masters victory, only days after the death of his mentor, Harvey Penick. Upon holing his putt for the win, Crenshaw pours out his emotions as he begins to cry while his caddie, Carl Jackson, offers support.
1996: During one of the largest collapses in major championship history, Greg Norman loses his 54-hole six-shot lead to Nick Faldo. Faldo ultimately defeats Norman by five shots after shooting a final-round 67 for his third Masters and sixth major championship victory.
1997: At just 21, Tiger Woods sets the all-time tournament scoring record of 270 (18 under par). Woods wins his first major championship by 12 strokes over Tom Kite.
2002: Woods becomes only the third golfer to successfully defend the Masters as he defeats two-time U.S. Open champion Retief Goosen by three shots.
2004: Phil Mickelson finally ends his losing streak in the majors by making an 18-foot putt on the 72nd hole for a one-stroke victory over Ernie Els. Upon making the putt, Mickelson leaps in the air and then embraces his family members with pure joy. Phil then follows the win with two more major championship victories over the next two years.
2005: In a duel with Chris DiMarco, Woods wins his fourth Masters on the first sudden-death playoff hole. During the final round, Woods makes one the most memorable hole-outs in Masters history. On the 16th hole, from left of the green, Woods chipped well left of the hole and then watched as it started to track towards the cup. His ball stopped for a brief moment, and then fell in for a dramatic birdie.
2008: Trevor Immelman defeats Tiger Woods by three shots for his first major championship victory, becoming the first winner since Floyd in 1976 to hold the lead at the end of each of the four days of play.
Related Links:
  • Full Coverage - Masters Tournament