Skip to main content

Donald, 9 more qualify for Open Championship

Getty Images

Updated June 29, 1:05 p.m.

Ten players earned invites to the Open Championship at St. Andrews on Sunday.

Luke Donald, Brian Harman, Graham DeLaet and Carl Pettersson punched their tickets via their finishes Sunday at the Travelers Championship. Four other players - Charley Hoffman, Robert Streb, Steven Bowditch and Kevin Kisner - got in thanks to their respective FedEx Cup point totals, and two more - Alex Noren and Kiradech Aphibarnrat - are in via the European Tour's Race to Duabi.

For the first group, the Travelers is part of the Open Qualifying Series, and the top four players who finish inside the top 12 and who aren't already qualified for the year's third major earn invites. For the latter four, the Open awards spots to the top five players in the FedEx top 20 after the Travelers who aren't already qualified. The last two are in under the same stipulations that govern the Race to Dubai standings.

Donald, the former world No. 1 who's now down to 68th, snuck into the field by tying for seventh at TPC River Highlands and tying Bo Van Pelt and Mark Wilson for the fourth and final qualifying spot. Donald earned the invite over those two thanks to his higher world ranking. The 37-year-old Englishman was forced to go through sectional qualifying to make the U.S. Open at Chambers Bay after also failing to make that field by the OWGR cut-off date.

Harman makes the Open via the Qualifying Series for the second time after winning the John Deere Classic the week before the British last year. He finished T-26 at Royal Liverpool. DeLaet will play his third Open after an 83rd-place finish in 2013 and a missed cut last year. Pettersson's best result in seven starts was a T-8 at Hoylake in 2006.

For the four to make it from the FedEx Cup, Hoffman has played the British four times, missing the cut twice; Bowditch played just once back in 2003; Kisner and Streb will be making their Open debuts.

Noren's best finish in five tries is a tie for ninth in 2012. Aphibarnrat has missed the cut the last two years.