Blair hits himself in head with putter, gets DQ'd

RSS

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Zac Blair was disqualified on Friday for using a non-conforming club at the Wells Fargo Championship.

After missing a birdie putt on the par-5 fifth hole, Blair hit himself in the head with his putter and bent it. He putted out for par on the hole and played the next before being informed by officials he’d violated Rule 4-3b.

Blair was 4 over par when he was disqualified and was in danger of missing the cut.

Blair poked fun at himself after his DQ, tweeting out this gif of Woody Austin, who also whacked himself in the head with his putter in 1997 at Hilton Head. He also issued a statement explaining what happened.