D. Johnson edges closer to Olympic berth


Dustin Johnson came up short in his bid to win his first major title, but he continued a run of strong form that has him inching closer toward an Olympic berth.

Johnson finished T-4 at the Masters, his third straight top-five finish and fourth such result in his last five starts. While Johnson remained at No. 8 in the Official World Golf Rankings, he added some distance between himself and Patrick Reed for the coveted fourth and final spot representing the U.S. this summer in Rio.

Many of the international contenders at Augusta National were already in line for Olympic berths, namely Soren Kjeldsen, Hideki Matsuyama, Kiradech Aphibarnrat and Louis Oosthuizen.

Paul Casey, however, remains on the outside looking in despite a T-7 finish. Casey sits at No. 24 in the world but behind fellow Englishmen Danny Willett (No. 9) and Justin Rose (No. 10), meaning that Casey will likely need to crack the OWGR top 15 to earn his country an additional roster spot in the 60-man field. It's a similar plight faced by 20th-ranked Charl Schwartzel, who trails fellow South Africans Oosthuizen (No. 12) and Branden Grace (No. 14).

Olympic qualification will run through the Open Championship in July. All players ranked inside the top 15 earn automatic entry (max of four players per country), with the rest of the field filled based on a max of two players per country.

Here is a look at the 60 players currently in line to tee it up in Brazil:

1. Jason Day (AUS)

2. Jordan Spieth (USA)

3. Rory McIlroy (IRL)

4. Bubba Watson (USA)

5. Rickie Fowler (USA)

6. Henrik Stenson (SWE)

7. Adam Scott (AUS)

8. Dustin Johnson (USA)

9. Danny Willett (GBR)

10. Justin Rose (GBR)

11. Louis Oosthuizen (RSA)

12. Hideki Matsuyama (JPN)

13. Branden Grace (RSA)

14. Sergio Garcia (ESP)

15. Byeong-Hun An (KOR)

16. Rafael Cabrera-Bello (ESP)

17. Shane Lowry (IRL)

18. Emiliano Grillo (ARG)

19. Kiradech Aphibarnrat (THA)

20. Danny Lee (NZL)

21. Soren Kjeldsen (DEN)

22. Bernd Wiesberger (AUT)

23. Thongchai Jaidee (THA)

24. David Lingmerth (SWE)

25. Victor Dubuisson (FRA)

26. Anirban Lahiri (IND)

27. Martin Kaymer (GER)

28. Thomas Pieters (BEL)

29. Fabian Gomez (ARG)

30. Thorbjorn Olesen (DEN)

31. K.T. Kim (KOR)

32. Shingo Katayama (JPN)

33. Joost Luiten (NED)

34. Francesco Molinari (ITA)

35. Ricardo Gouveia (POR)

36. Miguel Tabuena (PHI)

37. Alexander Levy (FRA)

38. Graham DeLaet (CAN)

39. Alex Cejka (GER)

40. David Hearn (CAN)

41. S.S.P. Chawrasia (IND)

42. Ryan Fox (NZL)

43. W.C. Liang (CHN)

44. Fabrizio Zanotti (PAR)

45. Mikko Ilonen (FIN)

46. Ashun Wu (CHN)

47. Brendon de Jonge (ZIM)

48. Camilo Villegas (COL)

49. Angelo Que (PHI)

50. Roope Kakko (FIN)

51. Nicolas Colsaerts (BEL)

52. Danny Chia (MAS)

53. Jhonattan Vegas (VEN)

54. Rodolfo Cazaubon (MEX)

55. Wen-Tang Lin (TPE)

56. C.T. Pan (TPE)

57. Carlos Ortiz (MEX)

58. Adilson da Silva (BRA)

59. Mardan Mamat (SIN)

60. Siddikur Rahman (BAN)