DJ named PGA Tour Player of the Year


As expected, Dustin Johnson was named the PGA Tour Player of the Year on Tuesday.

Johnson won three times, including his first major at the U.S. Open, and posted 15 top-10s in 22 starts. He also earned the Vardon Trophy for the lowest adjusted scoring average and banked more than $9 million in earnings.

Since turning pro in 2008, Johnson, 32, has won every season on Tour, the longest active streak. He has 12 victories overall.  

The award is voted on by the Tour’s membership. The vote total was not disclosed. 

Also on the ballot were Jason Day, Rory McIlroy, Jordan Spieth and Henrik Stenson