Gomez solidifies Olympic chances with Sony win


Fabian Gomez took a big step toward clinching a spot in the 2016 Rio Olympics with his playoff victory Sunday at the Sony Open in Hawaii.

Gomez outlasted Brandt Snedeker on the second extra hole to earn his second PGA Tour victory since June. As a result, the Argentine rose 57 spots to a career-best No. 55 in the world rankings.

Gomez was already in position to earn the second of two projected Olympic bids for Argentina, behind Emiliano Grillo, and he bolstered those chances with the win at Waialae Country Club. He is now ranked No. 27 among the 60 golfers currently in line to qualify for a spot in Rio, and his OWGR gap over Angel Cabrera - the next closest Argentine in the standings - is now 172 spots.

While Gomez moved up nine spots in the Olympic standings, no men moved in or out of the top 60. So the current field remains the same (for now), with the qualification window extending through the Open Championship in July. As a reminder, countries can have up to four representatives if all are ranked inside the OWGR top 15, with countries otherwise capped at two players apiece. Here is a look at the current projected field for Brazil:

1. Jordan Spieth (USA)

2. Jason Day (AUS)

3. Rory McIlroy (IRL)

4. Bubba Watson (USA)

5. Henrik Stenson (SWE)

6. Rickie Fowler (USA)

7. Justin Rose (GBR)

8. Dustin Johnson (USA)

9. Adam Scott (AUS)

10. Sergio Garcia (ESP)

11. Branden Grace (RSA)

12. Hideki Matsuyama (JPN)

13. Louis Oosthuizen (RSA)

14. Danny Willett (GBR)

15. Shane Lowry (IRL)

16. Thongchai Jaidee (THA)

17. Byeong-Hun An (KOR)

18. Martin Kaymer (GER)

19. Emiliano Grillo (ARG)

20. Victor Dubuisson (FRA)

21. Bernd Wiesberger (AUT)

22. Kiradech Aphibarnrat (THA)

23. Anirban Lahiri (IND)

24. Danny Lee (NZL)

25. Soren Kjeldsen (DEN)

26. David Lingmerth (SWE)

27. Fabian Gomez (ARG)

28. Shingo Katayama (JPN)

29. K.T. Kim (KOR)

30. Francesco Molinari (ITA)

31. Thorbjorn Olesen (DEN)

32. Ricardo Gouveia (POR)

33. Joost Luiten (NED)

34. Thomas Pieters (BEL)

35. Miguel Angel Jimenez (ESP)

36. Alexander Levy (FRA)

37. Fabrizio Zanotti (PAR)

38. David Hearn (CAN)

39. Alex Cejka (GER)

40. Graham DeLaet (CAN)

41. Brendon de Jonge (ZIM)

42. Ryan Fox (NZL)

43. Wu Ashun (CHN)

44. Li Haotong (CHN)

45. Mikko Ilonen (FIN)

46. Camilo Villegas (COL)

47. S.S.P. Chowrasia (IND)

48. Miguel Tabuena (PHI)

49. Angelo Que (PHI)

50. Nicolas Colsaerts (BEL)

51. Roope Kakko (FIN)

52. Danny Chia (MAS)

53. Vijay Singh (FIJ)

54. Carlos Ortiz (MEX)

55. C.T. Pan (TPE)

56. Jhonattan Vegas (VEN)

57. Lin Wen-Tang (TPE)

58. Felipe Aguilar (CHI)

59. Siddikur Rahman (BAN)

60. Adilson da Silva (BRA)