Hossler, Wise headline John Deere sponsor invites


Hours before their teams battled for a national title, Texas standout Beau Hossler and Oregon's Aaron Wise were announced among a group of top college players who will receive sponsor invites into this year's John Deere Classic.

Hossler, the frontrunner for Player of the Year honors, is expected to turn pro after the NCAA Championships conclude. He'll be joined in Silvis, Ill., by Wise, who earlier this week won the NCAA individual title at Eugene Country Club.

Invitations were also extended to Arizona State's Jon Rahm, who last week won the Ben Hogan Award for the second straight year, Oklahoma State's Jordan Niebrugge, who last year finished T-6 at the Open Championship as an amateur, Georgia's Lee McCoy, who finished T-4 this year as an amateur at the Valspar Championship, and Illinois' Charlie Danielson.

According to the tournament, each player will participate as a professional.

The John Deere Classic has long embraced its role in helping promising young players as they begin their professional careers. Recent recipients of similar exemptions include Tiger Woods (1996), Zach Johnson (2002), Jason Day (2006), Webb Simpson (2008), Jordan Spieth (2012), Patrick Reed (2013) and Bryson DeChambeau (2015).

The tournament is typically played in mid-July at TPC Deere Run, but this year it will be held Aug. 11-14 opposite the Olympics.