Ko becomes youngest LPGA Rookie of the Year


Lydia Ko has been named as the Louise Suggs Rolex Rookie of the Year for 2014, making the 17-year-old the youngest player in LPGA history to receive the award.

Ko turned pro late last year, then won twice in her first full season as a pro while becoming the youngest millionaire ever on the LPGA. The total haul for the current world No. 3 this year: 13 top-10 finishes, including a pair of runner-ups and victories at both the Swinging Skirts LPGA Classic in April and the Marathon Classic in July.

"It's really been a dream season for me," Ko said in a release. "It’s an honor to have my name now etched alongside such amazing players and legends of the game on the list of Rookie of the Year winners.”

Ko is now riding a streak of 40 straight made cuts, having never missed a cut in an LPGA event. Heading into this week's Lorena Ochoa Invitational, the Kiwi is third in the Race to the CME Globe and fourth on both the 2014 money list and Rolex Player of the Year standings.

Past Rookie of the Year recipients on the LPGA include Nancy Lopez (1978), Juli Inkster (1984), Annika Sorenstam (1994), Karrie Webb (1996), Lorena Ochoa (2003), Paula Creamer (2005) and Yani Tseng (2008).