Many of game's greats have won Open at Muirfield


Muirfield Golf Club announced Thursday that it would not allow female membership. The R&A responded with a statement that the club would no longer host the Open Championship under its current all-male member policy.

Here's a look at past Open winners at Muirfield, which includes many of the games greats.

(* indicates World Golf Hall of Fame member)

2013 Phil Mickelson*
2002 Ernie Els* 
1992 Nick Faldo* 
1987 Nick Faldo* 
1980 Tom Watson* 
1972 Lee Trevino* 
1966 Jack Nicklaus* 
1959 Gary Player* 
1948 Henry Cotton* 
1935 Alf Perry 
1929 Walter Hagen* 
1912 Ted Ray 
1906 James Braid* 
1901 James Braid* 
1896 Harry Vardon* 
1892 Harold Hilton*